We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, faultless” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roraima House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staithes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roraima House
Save
You added Roraima House to your Saves list
40 Staithes Lane, Staithes TS13 5AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Staithes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kenilworth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Once again, faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

A perfect welcome from Stuart and Sandra. We arrived with 6" of snow on the ground but quickly forgot about our long journey as we settled into their beautifully appointed and warm home. We were shown to room 1 which has wonderful four poster king size bed with crisp white bedding. We were blown away by the huge en-suite bathroom with double shower cubicle and roll-top bath and ducks. If you are going to Staithes there is no better place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
111
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed for one night at the Roraima, Staithes and it is still quite amazing value for money. Five star. We previously stayed over in April this year. The rooms are huge and tastefully decorated, the furniture classy. Our Room No 1 with bathroom was very very spacious. The full English Breakfast was so good as was the free afternoon tea and cakes. It is quite simply a great place to stay. Do yourself a favour next time you`re in Staithes, stay at the Roraima House.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

Travelled up to Staithes on the morning and just walked down the street and noticed this B & B, rang mobile number on the door and left a message. Sandra rang us while we were out walking on the Cleveland Way and confirmed our booking.

We were worried what it would be like, as we booked completely blind. As soon as Stuart opened the door with a we knew it was going to be good. We were shown to room number 3, what a size and a massive shower too, great creature comforts, a comfortable bed, real Yorkshire tea bags and a good selection of teas and coffee.

For our evening meal we went with our family who were stopping nearby to The Badger Hounds just a mile away. What a massive meal, steak pie with big chips and lots of veg, excellent food, but too full to sample a pudding afterwards. A few pints of Doom Ale went down well too!

Back to the room and an excellent nights sleep.
Cooked breakfast was fantastic, a good choice of bread, tea, coffee etc, everything A1.
The breakfast room and the whole of the house were immaculate with lots of period pieces, including some beautiful stained glass windows.

Our family drove round to pick us up and Stuart invited us all back for tea and cakes later, a really kind gesture as we were now 5 in total.
After a days walking we duly returned and we all had a guided tour of the other rooms and back downstairs for an excellent choice of home made cakes to die for, plus tea and coffee. My daughter and husband liked the room with the 4 poster bed that much that they promptly booked it for 2 nights next year for their 1st anniversary!.

All in all the best B & B we have ever stayed in and we will be back.
Thanks Stuart and Sandra you made our short break fantastic, long may you continue there.
Steve and Susan, Grimsby
PS thanks for the duck :-)

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2010

Well worth a stay ...hosts made us feel extremely welcome, rooms were well appointed large and spacious. breakfast to die for...possibly the best B&B we have stayed in and could easily live in room 1 .......which we are planning to do on our next trip ..Phil and Greg

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Wonderful B&B so comfortable so freindly so roomy so peaceful and so close to all in the village. What a lovely atmosphere and lovely breakfast too would love to stay again when in the area

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Never heard of Staithes until recently so it’s not somewhere I’d ever thought about visiting. Booked one night at the Roraima B&B and have to say we thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The location is great and a quick walk takes you to the local eateries, which we enjoyed after a 6 mile coastal walk to Runswick Bay. My wife took advantage of the large Bath in room One and the views from our room were lovely.
Stuart is a great host and we really enjoyed his company and exchanged a few stories. You are made to feel welcome and along with a great breakfast it’s somewhere I’d recommend.
Unfortunately we missed the cakes at 4.30 but Stuart kindly saw us off with a piece of cake for our journey home. (Delicious)
We will certainly return…

Simon & Natalie Wood

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

Nothing is too much trouble for Stuart and Sandra. The cake the breakfast and the rooms are superb. Ask him about wine. No wonder thaey are so sociable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Roraima House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roraima House

Address: 40 Staithes Lane, Staithes TS13 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Staithes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Staithes
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imposing Victorian Sea Captains house. Extensive, recent, sympathetic refurbishment creating a beautiful home & B&B. Full of period features, stained glass windows, antiques & our collection of art work. King-size, four-poster, huge en-suite with shower & roll-top bath. Double en-suite room and top floor 'family suite' with double & twin, kitchen/diner/lounge & bathroom. Fresh home made cake served in the afternoon. Sandra & Stuart look forward to welcoming you to Roraima House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roraima House Staithes, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roraima House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.