We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and hosts (ensuite could do with a tweak)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Lion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Blue Lion to your Saves list
The Blue Lion
East Witton | Nr Leyburn, East Witton DL8 4SN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and hosts (ensuite could do with a tweak)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed for two nights on a (January deal) break from work and the city. Being January it was quiet, however we didn't mind too much as it suited our unwind.

The food was excellent, well presented, good value and with plenty of choice from either a 3 course (£28.50) or A La Carte menu - served by the open fires in the bar. A good selection of wines and craft beers and a hearty breakfast for the following morning.

Our room was warm and cosy, the homemade shortbread was a lovely touch. The en-suite was clean and the shower was good ...however... The floor tiles were quite badly cracked and loose, not a biggy for us but sure to upset others and needs attention. Free Wi-fi in the room meant we could stream Netflix.

Overall a lovely relax and experience overall from attentive hosts and staff - Will visit again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    71
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
19
152
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Eaten here many times over several years and stayed over night last spring. Good rooms with ample parking. Super dinner served in the comfortable bar as we had our dog with us which is our preference as oppose to eating in the restaurant and leaving our dog in the car. Each to there own!

Friendly staff, Craig is a true gent and always has time for our dog (and sometimes a treat from the kitchen!).

The food is not the cheapest in the area but it's certainly amongst the best!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed overnight for my sisters birthday it was brilliant. Great service great food and great atmosphere! The room was comfortable and clean. Free wifi was also a plus! Would definitely go back for another weekend away. I can't understand how anyone can write a bad review for the blue lion every visit has been brilliant!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We visit the Blue Lion on the last Saturday of January every year to celebrate an anniversary. It's always great to see the last of the shooting season fraternity enjoying themselves! We eat in the bar area, extensive menu to choose from, open log fire, great ambience !!
As for the food - so much to choose from - all on black boards but also a set menu if required. We just had a main course each - J had duo of lamb - excellent ! I had the duck confit which was equally as good!
Lovely wine and great service!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

As a well seasoned traveller, we booked the Blue Lion as it fitted our dog friendly, country pub requirements. This place dates back to 1840 and retains many if it's original features. Don't expect pub grub though. At approx £20.00 per main meal, the quality is equal if not better than any restaurant we have ever had the pleasure to eat. Pleased to say that the wine is very competitively priced and great quality. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Accommodation was on the small side, but very clean.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this venue and plan to return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Sodbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

The pub is traditional and the rooms modern, clean and barn conversion style. We stayed in Room 14, with underfloor heating, hard power shower (which will make your legs wobble) and White Company shower products so you may not make it out to the restaurant. The food's high quality and there is plenty of choice as it is made fresh to order. I had halibut on a bed of spinach and celeriac mash, smothered with cream sauce sprinkled with raisins. This is the place to bring your dog for weekend walking along the river Ure. There is nothing like North Yorkshire landscape to free your mind, with undulating patchwork quilts of pasture fields, with little fluffy clouds of sheep kneeling and nibbling at the grass. I like it that there are only Yorkshire stone built houses and miles of hand crafted stone walls all with three ledges. It is so uniformed yet wild and rougher than the Cotswolds - its ruggedness takes your breath away. We went round the Wensleydale cheese factory, the water falls and Bolton castle which is partly in ruin. Have been before and will definitely come again. On the way home stopped of at Yorkshire Sculpture Park to look at the loo trees. Loved every minute of it… thank u xxx

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humberston
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We go with friends and our dogs on many walking weekends ,The Blue lion was chosen for my birthday weekend away, we were not disappointed, The place itself is full of old world charm, the staff very friendly and attentive, Its not the cheapest place we have stayed but the food and accommodation are excellent, and they do go the extra mile to make your stay very pleasant. We will be coming here again.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good, some smaller than others but all have everything you need including tea and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Blue Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Lion

Address: East Witton | Nr Leyburn, East Witton DL8 4SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > East Witton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Blue Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
Blue Lion East Witton
Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
The Blue Lion East Witton, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.