We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Lion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Blue Lion to your Saves list
The Blue Lion
East Witton | Nr Leyburn, East Witton DL8 4SN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent 2 very relaxing nights in this very welcoming Hotel. Very friendly, efficient , welcoming staff. Smallish, but comfortable room. The dinner in the evenings was of a very a high standard - some excellent , well executed dishes. Breakfasts equally enjoyable. Would highly recommend The Blue Lion and felt they offered very good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    70
    34
    7
    5
See reviews for
19
138
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Visited here for one night, meeting 3 colleagues who also stayed. Rooms were very good with some nice old features, but had every modern amenity. The setting is excellent in the village of East Witton and the former coach house is picture post card. Staff were really friendly and helpful and the meal in the restaurant was first class with 2 of my French colleagues being very impressed. Food is quite varied and far from the usual pub menu, more quality restaurant standard. There is a very cosy feel to the place with open fires and small rooms, low beams Etc. Although it was spring when I visited, I can imagine it being wonderfully cosy in winter.
Breakfast was excellent having chosen smoked haddock and poached egg which was cooked to perfection. Staff couldn’t have been more helpful and the costs for the stay were well worth the price. I am sure I will visit again on a personal trip with my partner as it is a good place for exploring the local area and the Hotel even provide walking maps.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK, North Yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have just had the most fantastic dinner by the fire, the best dinner and setting I have ever experianced. Wonderful atmosphere, bar traditional oldie worldie. Food excellent. Very good service and will book again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very atmospheric: a bar with an open fire, settles, wooden floorboards... First rate food and good beer and wines. Friendly staff and no-one batted an eyelid as I sat sewing a large piece of medieval clothhing! Small but comfortable room with rather complex shower. We may well be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at the Blue Lion for 2 nights over 4-6 April. We booked into one of the superior rooms in the Courtyard - room 14. The room was spacious and comfortable, and as previous reviewers mention, plenty of hot water, nice clean bathroom and underfloor heating. I had arranged a bottle of champagne on arrival which was waiting, well chilled, on our arrival. We ate in the restaurant both nights. On the Thursday the bar was packed (I think a wedding party?) but the lady behind the bar coped very well and service was very good. Our meal was absolutely excellent - I had the belly pork which was perfectly cooked. Service, despite the fact that the place was so busy, was really good with Mr Klein on hand to ensure things went smoothly. The maitre d' (? - very helpful and friendly gentleman with a beard) was attentive without being over the top. Breakfast the following morning was superb, with the same very efficient lady from the bar appearing to take our orders. We also ate at the hotel on the Friday night but it was a little hit and miss ie. we didn't get a wine list given, had to ask twice (the second time being when the waitress came to take our drinks order) and service was much less attentive (apart from the gentleman with the beard who was as efficient as ever). I'm not sure how much the change was to do with Mr Klein not being visible but not a huge issue. Overall I think this is a good place to stay - the upsides are high quality food in a non-fussy but comfortable environment, friendly staff, comfortable rooms and a great location. The wine list is pretty broad and well-priced too. The only downsides were that the bar has so many reserved tables that we couldn't sit for a pre or post dinner drink there which was a shame, and also our room was still not made up late afternoon when we arrived back from a walk - although this could have been due to the fact we hadn't handed in the key on our departure, and finally there is absolutely no sound proofing between the courtyard rooms which might be something to consider when booking. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This delightful inn was a perfect escape, with a huge log fire and quiet garden. The room was small, but perfectly appointed and clean, with a comfy bed. The dinner was so very perfectly delicious. The wine list excellent, if a little pricey. Just two reservations. Firstly, we were in room four and we were disturbed by the sound of running water when other guests were using the bathroom. When we reported this to the receptionist she said 'We are aware of it'. Secondly, at breakfast the hot food was excellent but the only prepared fruit on offer was prunes. But these matters would not stop us returning or recommending the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid room four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

What a wonderful discovery. One of the nicest bars I have been into. A mixture of gastropub and restaurant(s); this place is a real find. A superb menu with plenty of fish and game. the staff are great; the place is very clean and it is a superb place to base your self if you are visiting the area. Theer is some good fishing to be had nearby on The River Ure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Lion

Address: East Witton | Nr Leyburn, East Witton DL8 4SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > East Witton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Blue Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
Blue Lion East Witton
Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
The Blue Lion East Witton, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.