We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Lion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Blue Lion to your Saves list
The Blue Lion
East Witton | Nr Leyburn, East Witton DL8 4SN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hull
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Consistently Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed the Blue Lion last week and have stayed several times over the last 20 years and eaten there even more often. Our last visit made me realise what a consistently excellent place this is - a warm reception , excellent food and wine , beautiful cosy bar and high quality rooms. The menu is always varied - we stayed on a Sunday and the range was very wide - they have a large chalkboard menu with a focus on seasonal Game and fresh seafood. We stayed in one of the newer rooms in the courtyard on a weekend B&B deal - this was spacious warm and had everything you needed. If you are staying in or visiting the dales there are few if any better all round value pub/ restaurant/accommodation locations than the Blue Lion

Room Tip: Look at the rooms in both the house and the courtyard / stables an decide if you want newer more mod...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk20, Owner at The Blue Lion, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are so pleased you enjoyed our accommodation special offer and thank you for sharing your lovely words about your excellent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    71
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
19
152
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Forget, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Over the last 10 years, we have visited this pub/restaurant maybe 10 times and have never been let down. Lunch and dinner are excellent as are the beers and atmosphere. For a meal after a walk, or a special evening out it is worth travelling the distance. If Duck is on the menu in any guise, go for it.

We liked a natter with the knowledgeable and friendly bar staff who were keen to please.

On one occasion, we stayed the night here and could not fault the place.

Room Tip: Ask to look out over the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk20, Owner at The Blue Lion, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks Adrian for your very positive feedback, we love you coming to stay and catching up on news. Always a delight!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Blue Lion, a pub, a restaurant and a hotel, has a heck of a lot going for it. Check out their website.
Built in the 18th century it still has lots of old world charm, with the benefit of nicely refurbished bedrooms and excellent food.
Our initial encounter with reception was a bit cold, but that over, the staff were great and very helpful. Particular mention must be made of the two guys ‘running’ the bar and restaurant service.
There are two bars, in which you can eat, which are very atmospheric, with log fires and very traditional furniture. The restaurant, which also has log fires, is in keeping with the period of the pub and is very welcoming.
Food was excellent, though a little expensive, with plenty of choice and well cooked and presented, (try the slow roasted duck if it’s available). There was a short wine list with a reasonably priced, and very palatable, house selection.
Our room, which was the standard double, had plenty of room and an excellent bathroom with plenty of hot water. The bed was comfortable and furnishings were in keeping with the period of the pub. Power points were in short supply in our room so if you are taking a plug in device you may want to take a short extension lead! Note that some of the rooms are a short distance across a courtyard from the main building, and ours, and its twin, were up a short flight of stone steps, which could be slippy in damp weather
The Blue Lion is excellently placed for exploring the dales with the interesting market towns of Ripon, Leyburn, Hawes and Richmond being only 30-40 minutes away (through beautiful countryside). Particularly recommended is Richmond and whilst there you should go on the short tour of the Georgian Theatre (and lunch at ‘The Station’)

Room Tip: Go for space, check out the website, discuss with the hotel, and not my comments in the review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have been to the Blue Lion before, as have our friends, and always been pleased however on this occassion I was disappointed with the accommodation. The room was in need of updating. The old polyester duvet hung out of the duvet cover and the bedding throw was slpit and in need of sewing. Curtains pelmets missing. We had asked for two Z-Beds for the children - one was OK but the other had no psrings in it - they replaced with another from their sister hotel but that was the same - in the end we put two mattresses on the floor and I had to sleep on it as it was so uncomfortable the kids couldn't sleep. What pushed me over the edge was them still trying to harge me for the kids the next day when they presented the bill....not goo when you haven;t slept well!!!
On the up side the food was still fabulous - you can't complain about that, although the service early evening was poor it did pick up as the evening went on.
In my opinion eat here and you will be pleased but don't stay the night as you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk20, Owner at The Blue Lion, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
It was lovely to have you visit again and we are sorry your experience with the accommodation was not of your expected standard. We take note of all feedback, so we do appreciate the time you've taken to post your thoughts. We would love you to come again so we can make your next visit a more enjoyable experience. Thank you for your kind remarks about the quality of our food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A Yorkshire friend decided to give me a whistle stop tour of Yorkshire in a weekend and after the Theakston Brewery tour we visited this hidden hem of a pub. Situated in the quiet hamlet of East Whitton it is a truly British, countryside pub but with a menu that will stun you. I could have had a different meal every day for a month and would have enjoyed every dish. The menu gets the saliva flowing and the taste buds tingling like mad. The place is decorated in the ‘traditional’ style, wood panels, old wooden tables all create the stereotypical British pub – straight out of Corrie but better. You could easily dine there with welly boots on.

The menu isn’t let down by the quality of the food. Good, honest, tasty food.

I didn’t stay in the hotel so I can’t rate it.

Would definitely recommend to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent two nights here in October. We stayed in the superior rooms which were lovely with a nice large bathroom. I understand that dogs are not allowed in the superior rooms a bonus for me as I'm not a fan of dogs!
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We ate dinner in the bar on the table next to the open fire. This was perfect for me as I much prefer the informality, so much more relaxed than a formal dining room! The food was fabulous the only problem was deciding off the large menu.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Superior rooms do not allow dogs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We went to this hotel on the recommendation of friends ,lovely scenic area. The room we were given was straight off the car park , very dark and the wardrobe smelt a little damp and it had an air freshener in it . This would probably have been ideal for someone with dogs but not us so I requested a room in the main building ,this was no problem and we were given a lovely one upstairs comfortable , warm with everything we needed.
Somewhat off putting all the reserved notices on the tables in the bar , but they were obviously keeping them for us later . The food at dinner was served there next to an open wood fire , the bench we were sitting on was very uncomfortable but the choice of food and quality was excellent . I had lamb which was perfectly cooked , wine also high quality not expensive . Service excellent if a little fast pleasant people serving . Breakfast was good and served in the dining room which might have been better for dinner the previous evening , would have liked to have the option .We would certainly have a meal here if in the area and will recommend a stay there to all our dog loving friends .

Room Tip: Ask for main building upstairs if you do not have pets or children .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk20, Owner at The Blue Lion, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
JyLivingston – 19th October

We are glad you were warm and comfortable in the upstairs room. It is always good to have honest feedback, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you again and if you have a particular table choice please do let us know when you make your next booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Lion

Address: East Witton | Nr Leyburn, East Witton DL8 4SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > East Witton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Blue Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
Blue Lion East Witton
Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
The Blue Lion East Witton, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.