We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Lion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Blue Lion to your Saves list
The Blue Lion
East Witton | Nr Leyburn, East Witton DL8 4SN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Dinner Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Did not stay as no rooms available, but had dinner here en route to our hotel.

Staff extreemly pleasant and accomodating.

Excellent food. Wide selection. Cannot say enough good things about it.

Worth booking in advance to avoid disappointment as they get very busy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    71
    37
    8
    5
See reviews for
19
153
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stopped off at the Blue Lion for lunch on Sat 7th July. It has a lovely menu all written on blackboards around the bar, starting with a Black Sheep beer well kept. Decided on Crispy duck leg confit with creamed blue cheese kale. Mashed potato £15.95. with side vegetables, not to much not to little, just right and so delicious. Surely this must be the equivalent of Rick Steins restaurants for quality and service. As the waiters all dressed in black and white uniforms gave that extra touch of quality. Really lovely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We have stayed at The Blue Lion many times, but for various reasons hadn't managed to get back there for about six years or so - until the end of last month, that is. It is a wonderful old building, carefully and sympathetically expanded by clever use of the courtyard at the back, a move which has preserved its immense character. The front bar is one of the best I know - high-backed settles and windsor chairs, a huge open fireplace almost invariably with a cheerful fire lit in the hearth, stone-flagged floors, and well-kept beers from the Black Sheep brewery. It is situated in the heart of beautiful countryside - East Witton is an estate village which is very photogenic. Staff are friendly and obliging. In the past we have dined in both the bar area and the dining room - both are absolutely fine. The food is of a particularly high standard, using good quality, generally local ingredients. Breakfasts are also excellent. I had a beautifully cooked piece of smoked haddock and poached egg - a meal which can easily be over-done if not carefully watched. I particularly like the fact the Blue Lion uses old Walker & Hall silver coffee pots and teapots, which add a touch of Edwardian class to the breakfast tables. We stayed in courtyard room 14, which was huge. The bathroom is beginning to show signs of age and wear, but everything that should work, did work, and the main bed area was done out in a smart, contemporary style. Home made biscuits in a tin on the hospitality tray was a nice touch. Flat screen television, and wi-fi in public areas - a must in the Dales, where phone reception can often be patchy to say the very least. East Witton is also known to fans of the Countdown television programme - former host Richard Whiteley is buried in the churchyard up the lane. We were delighted to find the old place as good as ever, and are already looking forward to making a return trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We went to The Blue Lion for lunch and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The building is full of character and has a very nice feel, the staff were friendly, kind and their service second to none and the food was excellent. We chose from the new set meal lunchtime menu, which had three of four choices for each course, and it was outstanding value (only £18.95 for 3 courses). We would highly recommend The Blue Lion, it's our new favourite!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had a very large party staying 2 nights for a 40th birthday party over last weekend and I can honestly say that the Blue Lion more than delivered on all fronts. Lovely well-appointed rooms, a cosy and welcoming pub, high quality food and absolutely brilliant staff. A special mention for Gill at reception and Craig and his team who really looked after us all weekend in a thoroughly professional and friendly manner. Would unreservedly recommend the Blue Lion to anyone travelling to or through the Yorkshire Dales and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were travelling with my parents and two small children and booked the Blue Lion quite a few months in advance. On the day before arrival we received a call asking us if we would switch rooms - on being told the new room was of the same quailty we said we would only to find the room very dark and unappealing especially compared to the lovely room up on the first floor in the main house where my parents stayed. We were offered another set of rooms - once again not brilliant but at least not quite so dark and the staff were very friendly and helpful and the owners gave us a bottle of wine at dinner, which was very kind. The food was brilliant. We were glad it was part of the room deal as prices are very high.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Blue Lion for a peaceful night away. Having stopped off for a drink in the pub before, we thought it looked lovely,and had always wanted to return for an overnight stay. Unfortunately we were very disappointed. The room was fine, comfortable and of a decent size but the meal was a complete let down. Although the pub area looked cosy and inviting we booked a table in the restaurant because we thought it would be even nicer. Firstly we were ushered to an empty room and when asked why it was empty was given the reply that no one else would be eating in ths area! I said this was unsuitable and not at all sociable so they led us to the main restaurant with a grunt of an apology from the head waiter! The cusine was luke warm and of an average standard. We eat in classy restaurants frequently and this was definately not on the same level at all. The prices are expensive and for this reason we expected a high standard of service and cusine. A great shame because the location is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Blue Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Lion

Address: East Witton | Nr Leyburn, East Witton DL8 4SN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > East Witton
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Witton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Blue Lion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
Blue Lion East Witton
Blue Lion Hotel East Witton
The Blue Lion East Witton, Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blue Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.