We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Team Rooms with Amazing Cakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Priory Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Priory Guesthouse
Save
You added The Priory Guesthouse to your Saves list
West End | Wensleydale, Middleham, Leyburn DL8 4QG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Middleham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
catterick
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic Team Rooms with Amazing Cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stopped in Middleham by chance and had a fantastic tea in the Priory. There was just the most amazing selection of cakes including a gluten free option. All were home made and just delicious! I had Chocolate and Guiness and my wife lemon polenta. Worth a detour!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed three nights and were delighted by Chris and Sarah's hospitality. The room was quiet (except for the rooks in the morning!), comfortable and well appointed. It is a lovely old house. The location in the middle of town was perfect and you can watch the horses go past every morning.
The stay was made more enjoyable because it turned out that Sarah had long ago been a nanny to someone in Toronto that my wife knows quite well and whose daughter went to the same school as our son. Small world!
The breakfast was perfectly cooked using local products selected from round about by Chris and the home made cakes looked so tempting we took some with us when we left since we had not been around for afternoon tea.

Apart from being a charming village, Middleham is a good base for exploring Wensleydale, Fountains Abbey, Ripon, Richmond and it's only about an hour from York or the Yorkshire Moors.

No great restaurants in Middleham, but Chris ordered us a taxi to the Sandpiper Inn in Leyburn, which was outstanding - see review. The driver was a real character and only charged ten pounds to take us there and bring us back.

Room Tip: View over the back is very peaceful - at the front you can watch the horses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stumbled on this splendid place through TA looking for somewhere to celebrate my mum's 87th birthday as all the usual hotels were busy with Saturday weddings.
From the initial email enquiry Chris was most attentive and clearly wanted to make our experience extra special, asking what was her favourite cake and whether we'd like to sit outside given the sunny weather.
On arrival we were escorted to a large round table in the lovely garden under the old apple tree for our private party. It was a perfect setting and a beautifully presented table with a pretty rose bowl, table cloth and napkins. Sarah was most attentive and the service overall couldn't have been better, which is so important with the demanding elderly and infirm.
The spread of food was equally fantastic with lots of dainty sandwiches, savoury and sweet scones, jam and cream, and various tea pots constantly kept topped up. Bea’s candle-topped lemon drizzle cake with berries around was the highlight and much appreciated, as was the doggy bag for the leftovers!
Many thanks for making it such a special occasion.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We called in here for morning coffee(9 of us plus dog) and were amazed at the reception we received, a blanket for the dog to lie on, and the homemade cakes were wonderful. Very good service, good coffee and loads of calories!
Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I had previously visited The Priory for afternoon tea and been impressed by the ambience of the building. An opportunity arose to visit Middleham with family and friends and we decided to stay at The Priory. We occupied the Red, Green and Middleham rooms, all of which were clean and beautifully appointed. We had lunch outside in the courtyard and a delicious breakfast the following morning. Chris and Sarah were very hospitable and managed well with the various children we had in tow. I would absolutely recommend this guesthouse to both families and couples, as an excellent base to visit the stunning North Yorkshire countryside and particularly the Middleham room, to view the horses on their way to the gallops.

Room Tip: Green room is excellent for families and the Middleham is lovely for couples and views of the horses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights following recommendations on tripadvisor. Middleham, itself, is a lovely town. It's very picturesque and has the wonderful castle in its centre as well as hundreds of race horses stabled in and about the town. It's a wonderful sight (and sound) in the morning to see them being ridden up to the Gallops. The Priory is very well situated, opposite the castle. Chris and Sarah, the owners, are the most welcoming people you could wish to meet and really can't do enough to make your stay perfect. The room we stayed in was huge, clean and very comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious and use all locally sourced produce. The attached tea room is brilliant and Bea makes the most wonderful cakes. All combined it's a great place to stay for a break. We will be returning.

Room Tip: If you have any particular requirements, ring Chris and Sarah who will do their utmost to accommodat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My wife and our youngest lad and I stayed for one night here. We were welcomed and shown to our room room 4 the green room. the room was very spacious and very clean. We ate out and there is a good selection of pubs and hotels selling food. the town seemed very welcoming to strangers. The two double beds were very comfortable the 3 of us were watching the TV from our beds, good family time. We had a very good breakfast and we were able to watch the horses on their way to the gallops. This was only the second time I have stayed in a guest house and would return if in the area and would consider staying in other guest houses due to our stay. I would never have stayed here without the TripAdvisor reports and thank you all for them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Priory Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Guesthouse

Address: West End | Wensleydale, Middleham, Leyburn DL8 4QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > Middleham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Middleham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Middleham overlooking Richard III’s childhood home, Middleham Castle, The Priory offers an escape to the country for those who aren’t prepared to compromise on urban luxuries. Middleham is famous for its race horse connections and groups of horses pass by the front of the Priory every morning on their way to the gallops. Located within easy reach of Manchester, Leeds, Harrogate and York, 5 race courses and several golf clubs. Nearest train station is Northallerton, and the nearest town is Leyburn (2 miles). Middleham has a local village store and local public houses serving food. The main house has 5 bedrooms, a guest Drawing Room and dining room. There is a walled garden for the use of guests – sit under the apple tree sipping a glass of wine and sharing one of Chris’s special summer BBQs. Drying, Ironing & Laundry facilities available. Well behaved dogs are welcome at the Priory in certain rooms by arrangement at point of booking for a small additional charge. Street parking available, there are no yellow lines in Middleham! The whole of the Priory is also available for house parties – price on application depending on requirements. For a self catering option, The Coach House which dates back to the 16th Century sleeps up to 8 guests – dog friendly, so bring your favourite 4 legged furry friend. Enjoy walks from the door and in surrounding dales including the Six Dales Trail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Priory Guesthouse Middleham, North Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Priory Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.