We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too good to be just a guesthouse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Priory Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Middleham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Priory Guesthouse
Save
You added The Priory Guesthouse to your Saves list
West End | Wensleydale, Middleham, Leyburn DL8 4QG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Middleham B&B and Inns
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Too good to be just a guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Its all been said already so i wish to underwrite previous reviews and add that from my first telephone
call with Chris i knew i was in good capable hands. I asked for some extra catering for four of us on
one of our Dales walks, this Chris handled with the upmost care and aptitude. A delightful experience,
its a must stay venue.

John and Friends

Room Tip: castle views enjoy the early morning walking horse shoe on highway, rear rooms courtyard and folly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our first visit to Middleham, off street parking, nice relaxed atmosphere, high quality accomodation. The room at the top, (Castle view) is the room to book. Decorated to a superb standard, Brass bath in the corner of the bedroom that looks out onto castle.
Chris cooks a brilliant breakfast, and does everything to ensure his guests have a positive experience.
Looking for accomodation that is gold standard, this is the place. The pictures on the website do not do the venue justice.
Excellent experience. We will be back

Room Tip: Front of the house is a good view of the castle, remember this is race horse country. They go out fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We had a great stay here. Most comfortable bed and loved seeing the horses going by at 6am!!! Or at least my husband did. Chris cooked a delicious breakfast and it is obvious that Chris and Sarah love this new life. good luck for the future and we will definitely come again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Have just spent a very enjoyable night here. We stayed in the recently refurbished Middleham Room. Wow what a bathroom - I want one like this at home!!! The bedroom was gorgeous too, a fabulously comfortable bed with quality bedding and a view from the window of Middleham Castle. The hospitality tray had a fresh coffee cafetiere and a great range of teas, plus fresh milk - a big selling point. Everything about this B and B from the fluffy towels and bathrobes says quality and care. Breakfast is eaten looking out at the castle, watching the racehorses go by and was again of excellent quality and from local suppliers. Great welcome also from the owner with recommendations for eating out, even going so far as to show us samples of menus. If you appreciate the personal touch and value the better things in life then this is the B and B for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Chris and Sarah have virtually finished the refurb. and its fab. Rooms are decorated to an excellent standard . The attic room not quite finished when we were there but had all thhe signs of a special experience. The breakfast all the more tasty knowing the chef is so enthusiastic about its local, quality procurement. Excellent relaxed informative hosts . Set in the middle of the lovely dales. Id book up early its going to be VERY popular

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

What a lovely property. Sarah and Chris have a passion for this business and their home. We stayed for one night in the 'Red Room' where the bed was like sinking into a marshmallow. We used their very lovely guest lounge (opposite Middleham Castle) with a 50" TV to watch England play rugby then went for a very nice meal at The White Swan Hotel brasserie.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris M, Owner at The Priory Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Sarah and I particularly enjoyed the Marshmallow reference. We are now working to ensure we achieve the Marshmallow effect in all our rooms. We hope to see you back in Middleham soon. Chris and Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is my first morning back in the office after a glorious 3 night stay at the Priory's self catering Coach House and I am very much pining for Middleham and Chris & Sarah's super hospitality. The cottage is beautiful with a wonderful well equipped kitchen, cooking was a total pleasure. The bedrooms were lovely with super linen and comfy beds and the bathrooms were great with lovely powerful showers. Sarah has put a range of gorgeous toiletries out and even puts fluffly bath robes out for the cottage The cottage looks out to a pituresque courtyard where the children played in complete safety and has a super area for sitting outside, our coffee in the spring sunshine out there yesterday was heavenly. The village has 4 inns, all of which were very welcoming and hospitable; we only got to try the Black Swan for food but loved it. We went across to the main house one morning to have breakfast a la B and B guests; this was sheer joy. Chris and Sarah and charming and thoughtful hosts and nothing is too much to ask. Chris rustles up a wonderful hearty breakfast and to start the morning in such a beautiful dining room, with views of Middleham Castle, whilst the some of the village's 500 race horse population canter by makes one wonder, could it get any better? if you're at the Priory in Middleham, the answer is - it just couldn't get any better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Priory Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Priory Guesthouse

Address: West End | Wensleydale, Middleham, Leyburn DL8 4QG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Leyburn > Middleham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Middleham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of historical Middleham overlooking Richard III’s childhood home, Middleham Castle, The Priory offers an escape to the country for those who aren’t prepared to compromise on urban luxuries. Middleham is famous for its race horse connections and groups of horses pass by the front of the Priory every morning on their way to the gallops. Located within easy reach of Manchester, Leeds, Harrogate and York, 5 race courses and several golf clubs. Nearest train station is Northallerton, and the nearest town is Leyburn (2 miles). Middleham has a local village store and local public houses serving food. The main house has 5 bedrooms, a guest Drawing Room and dining room. There is a walled garden for the use of guests – sit under the apple tree sipping a glass of wine and sharing one of Chris’s special summer BBQs. Drying, Ironing & Laundry facilities available. Well behaved dogs are welcome at the Priory in certain rooms by arrangement at point of booking for a small additional charge. Street parking available, there are no yellow lines in Middleham! The whole of the Priory is also available for house parties – price on application depending on requirements. For a self catering option, The Coach House which dates back to the 16th Century sleeps up to 8 guests – dog friendly, so bring your favourite 4 legged furry friend. Enjoy walks from the door and in surrounding dales including the Six Dales Trail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Priory Guesthouse Middleham, North Yorkshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Priory Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.