We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historic pub/b and b” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Black Swan Hotel

Black Swan Hotel
Market Place, Middleham, Leyburn DL8 4NP, England
+44 1969 624 290
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 6 Restaurants in Middleham
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Description: Situated in one of the most beautiful areas of the country in the stunning Yorkshire Dales just on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales National Park.The Black Swan Restaurant offers high quality locally sourced food and Ales in picturesque surroundings. With hops running through the ceiling, oak wood beams and a open log fire you're sure to not find a more welcoming place to enjoy an evening meal.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“historic pub/b and b”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The pub is very old, 17th century. Lots of beams and funny little passages. Rooms are to be upgraded soon and at the present a bit tired but the charm of the pub and the village are worth staying there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    18
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ok meal.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Had a nice meal here. It's typical pub style food. For the money that we paid it was very acceptable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointing food and service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We were really looking forward to our meal at the black swan as we had been on a family holiday nearly 30 years ago and we were hoping it'd bring back lovely memories, how wrong we were. The blonde barmaid was ignorant to the point of being rude. When the food arrived the 3 steaks we ordered medium rare were well done. They were cold, there was one very small bowl of chips between 3 of us and the Stilton sauce didn't arrive until we asked and then it was 10mins after the rest of the meal. It wasn't cheap at £15 a steak I would expect them to be cooked correctly and with more to accompany it. It wasn't a busy time only a couple of other customers in. The man working behind the bar tried his best and was welcoming and friendly but unfortunately too little too late. Overall really disappointing and before someone comments to say it was a different black swan this is definitely the one in middleham near the castle and there is definitely a blonde haired lady who works there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Okay pub”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Excellent friendly service and satisfactory plain pub food, but nothing special. Not as good as the White Swan, but based on only one experience at each, it’s not enough for a definitive comparison.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Poor food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We always give fair reviews and rarely give a poor rating, but this is one occasion for such a review. Arrived for lunch on a sunny Friday in summer, asked for the menus at the bar, told they would be brought out. but they never were. After ordering (some confusion at the bar), we waited a considerable amount of time, well over 1/2 hour, and had to go back and check where the food was. It wasn't even that busy, only a few people seemed to be eating. Eventually the food arrived, although the microwaved vegetables turned up 10 minutes after the main plates. Food was at best average. The jacket potato was still frozen in the middle, and a grey hair found in it. The cow pie was average with what looked like a supermarket pre-prepared crust. After thinking that the quality of food in pubs had improved in recent years, this was back to the bad old times. The beer garden tables could also benefit from a clean once in a while - they were filthy and looked unhygienic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Swan Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Black Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.