We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruby Wedding Anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brackenborough Hotel

Save Saved
You added Brackenborough Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brackenborough Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cordeaux Corner, Louth LN11 0SZ, England (Formerly Brackenborough Arms)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Louth
Louth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ruby Wedding Anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Hasd a fantastic night, great location, great food, brilliant service from friendly staff. If you are planning an event use the Brackenborough Arms Hotel, you won't be disappointed. We would go again, I don't think there is a venue in the Louth area that gets close.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hello Mr Long,

Thankyou for your review on TA, I must say it was an absolute pleasure to be involved in your event, and the staff and myself thank you very much for your lovely feedback,

Kind Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    69
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
42
113
14
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The perfect place for a romantic break for our anniversary. The rooms are finished to a very high standard which would suit both the business traveler and people looking for the ideal short break. Located 2 miles from the award winning market town of Louth the capital of the LIncolnshire Wolds. There was something to suit every ones taste on the Bistro menu which was served to again a very high standard. The staff were very friendly and helpful with nothing being too much trouble. Thanks for a great evening.

Room Tip: Noise is never a problem as the hotel is situated off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a positive review, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Brackenborough in the future,

Kind Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We wanted a relaxed evening before the hectic Christmas period and The Brackenborough didn't fail us. Once again we had an excellent meal with all the fresh local products that we have come to expect. The menu was varied and they were more than willing to accommodate our dietary requirements; nothing was too much trouble. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and we left only after booking for another evening! Thank you everyone!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
May I thank you for your feedback regarding your visit to the Brackenborough, and we look forward to your next visit,

Kind Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Six of us went for lunch in the bistro just before Christmas.

Didn't mind so much the 30 minute wait for the main course but then they messed up one of the orders so five had almost eaten their meal before the sixth one started.

After waiting another 30 minutes for our sweets staff informed us that 'the till had crashed' so our order never reached the kitchen, were very nice sweets when they eventually arrived though.

Don't think I will use again, even though the food was very good, until they find someone who can actually manage the place properly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Hello and thank you for your review, firstly may I offer my apologies regarding the shortfalls that you experienced in the Brackenborough Bistro, as this is not the normal standard that you or I would associate with the Brackenborough, with this in mind could I kindly ask you to call me on 01507 609169 to discuss your issues further and to assist with my investigations as I take your comments very seriously, although I will point out that we did have technical issues with our tills on the day you visited resulting in them crashing three times over a very busy lunch period, albeit I do understand that this is of no consolation to yourselves

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

14 of us had a brilliant party night on Saturday, December 14th. The food was lovely, service was fantastic and the staff were really helpful and friendly. This is the 4th year running we have come here for our Christmas Party and it just keeps getting better, can't wait for next year. Thank you to all the staff for making it a great night.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Hi Sharon,

Many thanks for reveiwing the Hotel with regards to your Christmas Party, it was most pleasing to see everybody having a great time, I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for Christmas 2013 in our new function room due to be completed shortly, you must come over and have a look,

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

we came for lunch with some very good friends of ours --they had very nice meals but I chose lasagne which was a small portion very dry ,burnt tasteless garlic brad and undercooked chips --EVERYTHING ON A MENU MUST BE GOOD NOT LUCK OF THE DRAW wine a tad expensive by the glass

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saints42york, General Manager at Brackenborough Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Hello, thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor, please accept my apologies regarding your Lasagne, I offer no excuses as there really isn't one other than we got it wrong on this occasion and your comments have been discussed wth my kitchen team already to prevent these issues occuring again, had you have brought this to the attention of my team on the day they would have been more than receptive in dealing with this matter for you, on the flip side I am more than happy that your friends enjoyed their meals,

I do hope that you would give the Brackenborough another chance as I do firmly beleive that this was an isolated incident.

Kindest of Regards,

Nick Kilmartin,
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Had a fantastic stay here in november 2012. Rooms very comfortable, staff very pleasant and helpful. Had an excellent meal, all fresh local products and traditional food, something for everyone and the deserts are amazing. Louth is a quaint little town with some nice shops to browse around.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brackenborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackenborough Hotel

Address: Cordeaux Corner, Louth LN11 0SZ, England (Formerly Brackenborough Arms)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Louth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Louth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Brackenborough Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Brackenborough Hotel is set in an idyllic location just outside the historic town of Louth in the Lincolnshire Wolds. With 24 individually-designed rooms; a distinctive attitude to accessible dining; and a number of stylish venues and private event rooms, the Brackenborough, along with the locally acclaimed Bistro Bar, is a flagship Oak Ridge hotel. Guest rooms offer glamour throughout. Each one individually designed with a rich, contemporary style, superior fittings and exclusive Oak Ridge Hotel Egyptian cotton linen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Brackenborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brackenborough Hotel Louth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brackenborough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.