Please read to the end
I normally like to give compliments first when reviewing stays in hotels and though it is difficult this time, I will try.
Reception; Excellent staff on reception. Well versed to parry any complaints with a smile and comforting word.
We never thought to ask about disabled access when booking. This is after all the 21st century. The car park was rather difficult to get to. Directions need improving as without SatNav we could have ended up anywhere. Gravel made it difficult to roll suitcase to get to reception and be warned, there is NO lift.
The room we booked was a twin. Unfortunately, as there is no lift and this room was on the 3rd floor it was out of the question. I made it to the first and had to turn back to reception. We were told the hotel was full and the only room available was a double on the first floor. Although still quite a trek from the restaurant/bar areas it was do-able but very small and rather shabby overlooking the car park. We were so tired after our long journey that by now we felt rather than seek another hotel, we would accept this room.
The bed; was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on. The mattress was awful. Every spring could be felt, the pillows were hard and worst of all, the duvet was so heavy we ended up taking it out of its cover and sleeping with only the cover on top of us.
The bathroom; the toilet was stained brown, there was nowhere to actually set down toilet bags, the shower was so near the wall as to make it awkward and water leaked out onto the floor, only 1 large towel, and cobwebs on the ceiling.
Furnishings; The carpet in the room was stained and dirty. The furniture was also in a poor condition. We had to turn the waste paper bin upside down to stand the kettle on as there were no sockets higher up to plug into. We had to phone down to reception about the noise from central heating/extractor fans. This was cut down considerably but still felt we were on a ship with the engines running. We were wakened several times by loud talking outside and twice gangs of 5/6 youths were running which made us concerned about our car. This was mentioned to reception.
View; Being that our room was at the back of the hotel our view was of the car park and the back of another building with rubbish lying about. Not the best. The whole room and its situation was very unappealing and not what we expected after looking at the brochure pictures.
Restaurant; Redeeming factor. The staff are fantastic and so happy to help, food was of a high standard though the cheesecake was not good. The English breakfast was superb and the Lincolnshire sausages delicious.
In conclusion; Looking at the brochure, we thought this hotel would be fantastic and romantic. Not so. This is an old building so beware if you don't like stairs, there are loads and NO lift. The hotel is not suitable for disabled people with walking difficulties. This hotel is in need of complete refurbishment. Money spent installing a lift, refurbishing the rooms and upping the standard of cleaning would pay dividends and ensure a steady flow of returning customers, including ourselves, willing to pay current prices and more.
Rooms at the back of the hotel are noisy
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firstly, may I say how sorry I am that you did not fully enjoy your entire experience with us, however, I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our food & that customer service from our staff was fantastic.
Report response as inappropriate
The White Hart Hotel is a grand 300 year old building and it is not possible, unfortunately, for us to install a lift that would enable all guests to get to their bedrooms without having to use the staircases. We do state on our website that we do not have a lift so that guests can make their own informed choice. Usually, guests will inform us of any mobility problems they have, and we always do our utmost to accommodate these guests on our lower floors, although we do try to avoid using the first floor bedrooms over our main bar during the busy weekend period.
The directions to our free, town centre car park, are listed on the confirmation letter which guests receive via e.mail, and details are also confirmed on our website.
Thank you for your feedback on the mattress in the room you stayed in which does appear a little uncomfortable, we are arranging for this to be replaced. We had recently changed from summer to winter duvets in readiness for the colder weather, and we would have been very happy to change your duvet for you during your stay, if only you had let us know at the time.
We provide 2 sets of towels in each double room – 1 set in the bathroom & 1 set in the wardrobe. This information is confirmed in our room compendium and again we would have been very happy to confirm this to us if you had contacted us at reception during your stay. All bedroom carpets have now been cleaned and we are also installing further electrical sockets where needed to ensure that each electrical appliance reaches the desk top.
We are located within a busy town centre, as also stated on our website, & the pathways around the hotel are for public use. The land at the rear of our hotel is not owned by us and we have contacted the company to address the overgrown area, which I am sure they do.
Please accept our apologies and we look forward to welcoming you back to the White Hart Hotel soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.