We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay in Boston” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The New England Hotel

The New England Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The New England Hotel to your Saves list
The New England Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Wide Bargate, Boston PE21 6SH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Boston
Wishaw, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“our stay in Boston”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel was clean and any staff we met were friendly but it has to be the worst sleep we've had in ages. The bed was far too soft and the room too warm. A fan in the room is a must since there is no air conditioning. The bathroom was also stifling.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    24
    6
    21
See reviews for
14
21
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here for a week whilst working in Boston.

This hotel is well situated on the edge of the town centre, It has parking and all the staff were pleasant helpful and professional.

My room was basic with en-suite, The Bed was comfortable and the usual drink making facilities were there. I would point out that the room did look a little tired and the bathroom was looking dated too. However there was a shower and bath the shower worked well powerful and stable and the towels were changed daily along with the bed made and linen changed twice in the week.
Breakfast was reasonable too, a selection of cereals were available perhaps yoghurts would be a good thing to offer along with these. Breakfast was brought to order although I'm not sure the bacon and sausage were cooked to order however the eggs were and they are the one thing that needs to be. Service was prompt and courteous
We spent a little time in the bar however I would of liked a better choice of bottled lagers but I found one I liked and settled on that.
My biggest issue with this hotel was the noise from other rooms, Being a contractor I'm familiar with the lads having a good time when away from home but at one point it was like my neighbours sounded like they were in my en-suite and this was at 2 in the morning. Perhaps some more substantial walls between rooms could be a consideration in a possible refit in the future.

Overall not too bad just the noise let it down otherwise this hotel had the potential to be a VG review, I suppose when you have one major flaw IE a sleepless night its easy to be ruffled by the smaller details that you could just live with.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

great position for city centre, very friendly and helpful staff, old hotel but nice clean comfy rooms average breakfast large on site free parking nice big room, the bathroom had a bath which is great , paid £80 for a double with breakfast I felt a little overpriced but would reccomend

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Lovely hotel, staff were very friendly and professional, service was excellent at all times and staff were always willing to help. The meal I chose in restaurant wasn't to the same standard however, neither the starter or main course were as described on menu and for the price of main meal I was very underwhelmed. I feel if they are offering halibut with minted new potatoes, carrots and asparagus with lime then this is what you should get, not a dried up bit of frozen fish with dry unminted potatoes and lacklustre veg, or for starter of saute mushrooms should be a bit more that a few sliced button mushrooms on brown bread toast, which weirdly was placed on top of an unappealing old fashioned attempt at salad and a slice of orange?? On the plus side the breakfasts are nice.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed here Saturday night. Room was clean but a little cold ( radiator off) but im a warm blooded person so didn't bother me. Hotel does need updating but again not a problem for me the essentials was there, comfortable bed which had fresh clean sheets. Breakfast was lovely, served to you hot and perfectly edible. Staff was really nice and friendly so overall I would recommend this hotel for a short stop over.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed overnight after a wedding reception at hotel,haven't got anything bad to say about our stay,staff were very helpful and caring, it's nice to stay in a solid hotel full of character,rooms were fine,slept really well beds very comfortable,it's an older building,so the rooms have a more traditional feel to them,lounge bar was enjoyable plenty of comfy seats it had a nice atmosphere breakfast was great and the service from the staff was good.a pleasant stay

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bsoton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Went to the hotel for an evening meal with my wife for steak night

Went on a Saturday night and was supprised to find we were the only couple booked in which did not boad well

But the hotel staff were very friendly and the quality of food was very good although a limited selection with the sweets

Found the parts of the hotel we used to be well presented and very clean although need to sort out their music as it kept getting stuck and for a good part of the evening had none as background in the dining room which would not have been a problem if there had been more than just the two of us in there

We would certainly use the place again despite the lack of custom and have already booked for Boxing Day lunch with the family

Would be good to see the place back to how it use to be

Room Tip: Did not use the rooms only there for a meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The New England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New England Hotel

Address: 49 Wide Bargate, Boston PE21 6SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Boston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The New England Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The New England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New England Hotel
The New England Hotel Boston, UK - Lincolnshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The New England Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.