We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daughters Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Poachers Country Hotel Restaurant

Poachers Country Hotel Restaurant
Swineshead Road | Kirton Holme, Boston PE20 1SQ, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 122 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Daughters Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Great venue and service to boot for my daughters wedding back in early Feb, Sally and her team had everything covered and took great pride in making it a special day. Food was very nice and the evening buffet was the best I've had. For those that stayed over a delicious full English was served up. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    14
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Fabulous update”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had our wedding reception here a number of years ago when it was in need of a make over and what a good job they have done!! The place looks absolutely fabulous!
The food is very good and at a very reasonable price, presented well too. The choice of wines and beers are good and the service deserves 10/10.
We've been a few times now and every time has been great. Lovely surroundings for an evening!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“LOVELY BIRTHDAY MEAL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I recently visited The Poacher Country Hotel for a friends birthday meal. We booked the table for 6pm on a Friday night. On arrival we where welcomed to the bar to order our drinks. We choose off the restaurant menu and we where all very satisfied with our food. The waitress was very polite and waited on us for our drinks too! On the overall we really enjoyed our night at The Poachers, we will be booking in again very soon.....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skegness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very average to say the least!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We booked a table at The Poachers as we had heard good things...what a total let down! The service was appalling from start to finish, lots of staff but no one, including the lady who I assume was the manager knew what on earth they were doing. The place is lovely inside but we had to ask to move into the bar snug area next to fire because the restraunt was so cold...on a Friday evening. We were taken to our table and then waited a furher 35 minutes before our starter arrived, which was bazarr. No drinks or a wine menu were offered to us throughout the meal, I did manage to get the attention of a rather flustered waitress who brought one on request. The white wine list was very limited and the Sauvignon blanc I orderd was awful! The starters of Mussels and mushrooms were very nice when they did arrive but the mains were a again a let down. My husbands chicken was dry and my beef, although beautifully tender but over seasoned with salt, which was a real shame. The problems just continued, when we were brought the wrong dessret menu which had a choice of 3 desserts? Another waitress came to table seconds after we had ordered and stated we had been given the 'early bird' menu by mistake but instead of telling our waitress, she just let her bring the chocolate brownie 10 minutes later...which had been microwaved for that long it actually resembled and tasted like HOT chocolate sponge cake. The evening ended with an overcharge of £10 on the bill....I never really check a bill in a restaurant but felt the need due to the complete disorganisation!!! In our opinion The Poachers has nothing on The Barley Mow or The Ball House, both of which are closer for us. It was a night to remember but for all the wrong reasons, an expensive lesson in sticking with what you know is excellent and one not to ever be repeated..!!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua G, Guest Relations Manager at Poachers Country Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments we take reviews very seriously. We are very upset to hear that you had a bad meal and experience. Unfortunately the evening you booked we had experienced a few problems, our electticity supply had gone down and was not up and running until one hour before we opened (4pm). It had been off most the day and we were advised it was only going to be off for two hours, this was not the case. This resulted in our chefs being unable to prep and prepare our evening service in the way that we normally would. Also as you will hopefully appreciate that evening was exceptionally cold due to the abnormal weather conditions for March.
Please accept our sincere apolgies as this not normal practice for the Poaches and we would like to welcome you back with a complimentary meal for two. Once again thank you for your comments whcih we have acted upon. Please could you forward an address via email to enable us to send you a voucher to enquiries@poachershotel.co.uk
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Unfortunately we were unable to eat here as it was exclusively booked for a wedding but we received excellent customer service from Gareth and what could have been a disastrous evening turned out to be a great night. Many many thanks to Gareth and we hope to return in the future to eat!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poachers Country Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Poachers Country Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poachers Country Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.