We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adventure before Dementia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Y-NOT Guest House

Y-NOT Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Y-NOT Guest House
Save
You added Y-NOT Guest House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   10 - 12 Langrick Road, Boston PE21 8HT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Boston B&B and Inns
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Adventure before Dementia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

During a cycle ride from Ipswich to Humber Bridge my friend and I were mostly camping, we needed a proper bed for the night and stumbled upon Y-Not Guest House in Boston. The room was excellent value and the 'landlady' very accommodating, with secure cycle parking and an excellent breakfast.

The room was very clean and well appointed with tea, coffee, biscuits and access to a kitchen we could use, also had laundry facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
4
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A very pleasant 3 night stay on a fishing break to the local premier fishery 'Westwood Lakes'. Margaret, the proprietor, couldn't have been more helpful. Advice on local pubs, restaurants and taxi services were invaluable. Felt more like one of the family than an unknown guest! Room was excellent and a good nights sleep was followed by full English breakfasts to set us up for the day.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A very nice guest house. We travelled to Boston as my son was competing at the PRSA Athletics track which is only 4 minutes away. Both rooms were great . Our double room was very big with an ensuite and our son's room had twin beds with an ensuite. We had access to the kitchen which has tea, coffee and juices, cereals, bread butter and jams available to us at no extra cost. That was a lovely touch - especially after a long journey before we headed out for dinner that evening.

It is a really good location on the outskirts of town so we had easy access to town and the sports stadium. To top it offor Margaret, the proprietor was very welcoming. We were made to feel at home, breakfast was lovely and on the second day when Alex had an injury and still a day of competition ahead of him, Margaret gave him some gel to easy the pain and would not accept anything in return. Thank you for making us so welcome, and a big thank you for what you did for our son it was beyond kindness.

This is a lovely guesthouse and very accommodating, very reasonably priced and a service that would put some of the expensive hotels to shame. We would highly recommend it and if we are in the area again, we will be checking in again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very nice little guest house, Margaret, the proprietor was very friendly and helpful... I didn't leave my room until late, but there was no pressure to get out! Thank you!
A very pleasant stay and very near to town and all the amenities.
The room I had was big with ensuite - great value for money!

Thank you Margaret! :) x

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daugavpils, Latvia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have just spent six days as a guest at the 'Y-NOT' with my wife whilst attending a friends wedding. The accommodation provided was spotlessly clean and very well appointed. The access to the kitchen to prepare our own food and to make tea and coffee as required was an excellent bonus. There are coffee/tea making facilities in the rooms also. I totally love the warm, friendly welcome both Margaret and Pete give their guests. The breakfasts in the morning were superb and very much appreciated by an 'ex-pat' who can't get a 'full English' where I live.
I cannot recommend this guest house highly enough, everything is 'first rate' and is exceptional value for money.
The Guest house is only a few minutes walk from the town centre of Boston and is ideally situated if you wish to explore the town.
I will definitely be returning to Y-NOT next year and am heartily looking forward to it and the warm welcome I know I will receive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our stay at the Y-NOT was organised at short notice by a friend and as I normally do my homework before choosing a guesthouse, I was a little nervous about what sort of place he might have chosen. I needn't have worried - he had picked up our keys in advance and we arrived after midnight to find a super large room, perfectly clean and tidy and with our own kitchenette and en suite shower room - a good strong hot shower as it turned out, which is always a bonus. I don't often sleep well away from home but the double bed in our room was wonderfully comfortable and warm, resulting in the best nights sleep for ages! Breakfast next morning was excellent with a choice of cereals, unlimited fresh juice and an excellently cooked full English which set us up perfectly for the day ahead. All this was great but what really makes the Y-NOT stand out is the friendliness of the lovely hosts Margaret and Pete who chatted to us as though we were old friends and even ended up helping us find a good local tradesman for an ongoing project - a genuinely nice decent couple. We visit Boston a couple of times a year and good, well located accommodation can be hard to find but now I've discovered the Y-NOT I probably wouldn't want to consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Margaret treats her guests as family friends and goes out of her way to make new guests welcome. I stayed at Y NOT for over two months whilst working in town and have been very well looked after throughout that time. A comfortable room with access to kitchen facilities meant that I could look after my own cooking during the evening. The house is in a quiet location just out of the town centre but close enough for access to shops etc. An ideal place to stay with those little touches that make a stay pleasant such as drink facilities/TV in the room.

Room Tip: Quiet at the fron of the house..... V quiet at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Y-NOT Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Y-NOT Guest House

Address: 10 - 12 Langrick Road, Boston PE21 8HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Boston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Y-NOT Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are close to Boston Town Centre, railway and coach stations. We offer guests the use of a kitchen and drying facilities. We have an alarmed garage for cycles &motorcycles. We offer home from home B&B with self-catering options if preferred. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Y-NOT Guest House Boston, UK - Lincolnshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Y-NOT Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.