We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating and good for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boston Guildhall

Boston Guildhall
South Street, Boston PE21 6HT, England
+44 1205 365954
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 22 things to do in Boston
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the 1390's this building is a testament to the wealth and influence of the Guild of St Mary at a time when Boston's power as a centre of trade was second only to London. This wonderfully preserved building, with a wealth of original features, has survived the centuries and is to be enjoyed as one of Boston's finest visitor attractions. A wealth of stories, secrets and experiences are told and shared throughout the building including the history of the Guild of St Mary, international trade with the Hanseatic League, Henry VIII dissolve of the Guild, the foundation of the Corporation of Boston and the very famous trial and imprisonment of the Pilgrim Fathers. The Guildhall is also home to the towns museum collection where displays and exhibitions bring life to the stories told, and a stunning venue for civil ceremonies and private functions.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fascinating and good for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great to learn about the Pilgrims but really impressed by the stuff for little kids - my daughter (then aged 3) loved 'excavating' in the sand for treasure!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Lots to look at and learn about. Splendid looking building - great for children as lots of interactive games.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great fun!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We initially went in to take refuge from the cold (no, we're not philistines ha ha), but it was a Tourist information centre, and we didn't require any (information, that is). The staff were really friendly, down-to-earth and helpful, concerning local events etc We decided to have a quick look around, seeing as we were there, and ended up staying well over an hour. There were lots of opportunities for photography, and we had fun trying on Medieval costumes and sampling the cells. This is truly a magnificent building and the displays are very 'hands-on' and educational. Well worth a visit, come rain or shine!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Best way to spend an hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

They have done a great job with the renovation of the Guildhall, I remember it as a boy and returned recently to see what improvements have been made. It is well worth the visit and has been done extremely well, all ages will enjoy this trip round, it only takes an hour, and the history will surprise you!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Bosworth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Tourist Attraction and local curiosity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I accompanied a relative who lives locally to examine the wonderful Guildhall. We were greeted so warmly by the staff. There is loads of information to hand and the amount of things to see was amazing - you could see what a huge amount of work and money it must have taken to be so lovingly restored. I would love to go again. Anyone reading this, you must go. it is really interesting for anyone. There is also a member of staff doing activities with the children while the parents look at things in more detail. Fabulous.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boston Guildhall also viewed

 

Been to Boston Guildhall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boston Guildhall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.