We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay, with a friendly atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dingley Lodge Hotel

Dingley Lodge Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Market Harborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dingley Lodge Hotel
Save
You added Dingley Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
Harborough Road | Dingley, Market Harborough LE16 8PJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay, with a friendly atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Bruce and Christine were lovely hosts, very unobtrusive and accommodating.
Stunning views over the countryside and very quiet. Rooms are equipped with tea/coffee facilities, and hairdryer. Plenty of hot water and extremely comfortable beds. Rooms are decorated very nicely in keeping with the age of the house. Wonderful breakfast. Would thoroughly recommend, the only downside which could be rectified albeit at a cost which may then be reflected in the price, was although the bedrooms are lovely and warm the communal areas, the hallways, sitting/bar, dining room were a little chilly, there were convector heaters in the hallway and dining area and a large log burner in the sitting/bar area but despite this we felt it made it a little unpleasant to stay for too long.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
13
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Christine and Bruce really do go the extra mile to make you feel welcome and to ensure you enjoy your stay. This started with the offer of tea on our arrival, which was a nice touch. The building is old and interesting with some stunning views, which we appreciated more on our second day when the rain and wind had subsided! There is an old fashioned feel to this small hotel, which means you get a larger than average room and electric blankets on the beds. The rooms are also warm with additional heat provided if you want to use it. The lounge has a lovely log burner too. The evening meal and breakfast was good home cooking and very pleasant. We had a busy schedule of visits to complete so didn't get to appreciate the immediate area or any walks but hopefully we'll return in better weather sometime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were booked in to Dingley Lodge by a couple that we were taking wedding photos for.

We had no idea what to expect and were advised that it was no problem for us to check in late. We arrived at 7pm and met the one of the owners Christine who was lovely. We had a great chat whilst she showed us around. The authentic fireplace and grand feel of this Victorian building was really inviting and we couldn’t wait to relax in our room.

The room was well equipped with coffee and tea making facilities, a good warm shower, TV with lots of freeview channels and a really comfy bed.

We slept extremely well and got up early for breakfast. The selection was great with fruit salad, cereal and a freshly cooked breakfast by Bruce who took our order. The breakfast was the best we have had in a B&B and it was made even nicer by the nice atmosphere and friendly chat with Bruce.

The views around the house are simply stunning and we would have loved to explore more and gone on some walks.

When it was time to leave both Bruce and Christine came out to say goodbye.

We would not hesitate in staying there again and thoroughly recommend it to anyone who is travelling through or visiting the local area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dingleylodge, Owner at Dingley Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thankyou Travelshutters for your warm words. We remember your visit well and were interested to chat with you about your photography. I hope business is progressing well

Unfortunately your time here had to fit around the wedding you were attending but you said that one day you'd like to come back and we look forward to welcoming you again.

If/when you do return you'll find that this area is one of the UK's best-kept secrets as far as tourism is concerned; there's plenty to do and see, some excellent places to eat and drink and, if you don't want to do much, you can always just sit outdoors and soak in the view. We love the fact that the locality isn't heaving with visitors and that those who do come tend to show appreciation of and respect for the local environment.

Thankyou again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The family re-union was once again held at this wonderful hote. As always, Chris and Bruce went out of their way to make our event a great success and made us all feel so welcome. The rooms were clean and well decorated and the views across the valley were stunning.

Well done Dingley Lodge! You make it a pleasure to stay away from home.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are excellent but one overlooking the valley is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dingleylodge, Owner at Dingley Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thankyou Tony for another great review! It's good to know that, when accommodation space is limited at home, so many folk in this area choose Dingley Lodge as a good over-spill place for family and friends to stay.

We've now been here over 30 years, have been 'in business' for 25 of these and can proudly say that some of our guests have now been using us for decades! It's also true that over 90% of our guests have stayed with us at least once before and that some of them have stayed literally hundreds of times. Hopefully it's not just because we're convenient for Market Harborough.

Thanks to this support, during a period which has seen the closure of lots of small businesses like ours, Dingley Lodge has managed to survive the onslaught of the cut price multi-national/corporate lodges and inns which have sprung up - not just in Market Harborough but right around the country - in the last few years. Hopefully we'll be able to continue just as we are until we're ready to retire.......... bring it on!

Thankyou again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oadby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Decided to have a weekend away from it all and chose Dingley Lodge at random.
Could not believe our luck when we got here. The friendly reception by Bruce and Christine who made us feel at home with tea and biscuits before showing us to our room which was very clean and airy with lovely high ceilings and large windows, as well as very comfortable beds and excellent en-suite, offering phenomenal views over the surrounding countryside.

The house is very spacious with a good sized lounge and open wood burning stove which gives a very homely atmosphere. The meals are proper meals (not that Master Chef nonsense), freshly cooked (No re-heats) and of excellent quality prepared by Christine who knows what she is doing. This is more of a Guest House than a Hotel where the guests are virtually part of the family.

In the grounds there are some very friendly chickens which come to have a chat - asking for something to eat, no doubt - and if one has some biscuit handy will pick it out of one's fingers with very sharp bills. So, be warned.

Thus, if one is in need of some civilised living whilst away from home, this is the place to come.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dingleylodge, Owner at Dingley Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
It's great when people who live not too far distant decide to have a weekend break, away from it all, and then choose.... Dingley Lodge!
Thankyou HarryandNesta for such glowing comments. I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly enjoyed having you here.
I've previously mentioned on Trip Advisor that guests really seem to appreciate personal service and, because Dingley Lodge is relatively small, Christine and I are able to give more time to this aspect than, say, a manager of a larger enterprise or an employee whose time is measured in cash terms.
We're grateful that in many cases reviewers are happy to overlook our failings in other areas because they value this service.
I'm glad you enjoyed Christine's cooking too and it's interesting that you mention 'no re-heats'. We did have a microwave for defrosting but it gave up the ghost a couple of years ago and we haven't bothered replaced it........ yet!
We hope to see you again before too long.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isere
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Having been invited to a wedding in Market Harborough, my girlfriend and I spent 3 wonderful evenings at Dingly Lodge. In addition to all the expected stuff (comfort, cleanliness, functionality, etc.), it was the unexpected stuff that stood out. For starts, the welcome was wonderful – we felt as if we had arrived at the house of old friends. We were really made to feel at home. As it happens, we watched the start of Olympic Games opening ceremony on TV at Dingley Lodge and were grinning so much; it’s as if Danny Boyle had been around to Dingly Lodge to get inspiration for his “Green and pleasant land” depiction. We too had the sheep and the hens and the pheasant roaming around on the surrounding lawns. The beautiful sunset and the distant lowing of cattle.
Breakfast was wonderful – delicious and copious with very good coffee (important!). Unfortunately we did not eat there any of the evenings, but walked by the dining room with envy when we saw what the others were having.

All in all we were very happy and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dingleylodge, Owner at Dingley Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thankyou 'onthemove380'. This must be one of the best reviews we could wish for.

Fortunately for us all the conditions were just right when you came to stay. The weather was good, the Olympics were just beginning and there was a general feeling ~ not just at Dingley Lodge ~ of well-being.

We're delighted that this feeling spilled over onto your stay with us and that you enjoyed your time here. Hopefully, when you're next over, you'll be able to stay with us again and, without the distractions of a wedding this time, be able to visit some local attractions and enjoy a relaxing time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here at the start of August for 4 nights with a group of friends as the hotel was ideally located for an event we were attending. The house itself is lovely with spacious bedrooms and decent sized bathrooms with plenty off road parking. The beds were very comfortable and the place was spotless. Breakfast was excellent with a good choice of cereals and fruit and cooked. As the weather was so good we sat out in the garden each night and admired the amazing sunset over the rolling fields whilst having glasses of wine - very very relaxing and peaceful. Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts who are attentive but not intrusive and very welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dingleylodge, Owner at Dingley Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thankyou Kazkd, for writing such a positive review.

I think we were very lucky (for a short while anyway) that the weather was on our side during your stay, which meant you were able to enjoy being outdoors for your picnics. Also, when guests are enjoying the company of others who are staying here, it adds to the pleasure of their overall experience. You obviously shared lots of fun and laughter together.

It's always good to receive praise isn't it; not just because it helps to improve business but also because it gives a warm glow with the feeling that you might be getting something right. We don't pretend that Dingley Lodge is a super-smart boutique hotel but what we do is try and offer a personal service and guests seem to appreciate that.

Most of our customers promise to return and very often they do. I see you've booked in again for 2013 which is great news. We'll look forward to seeing you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dingley Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dingley Lodge Hotel

Address: Harborough Road | Dingley, Market Harborough LE16 8PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Market Harborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Market Harborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A restored, elegant Victorian house, Dingley Lodge was originally built by Lord Downe for his respected farm manager, John Fisher. This family-owned hotel, which is set in four acres of open countryside on the Leicestershire/Northamptonshire borders, overlooks Dingley Point-to-Point course, the Welland Valley (with the delightful old town of Market Harborough) and beyond. There's a bar, lounge, dining room (home-cooked food) and eight individual en-suite rooms - each with free wi-fi, Freeview television, hospitality tray, hairdryer and radio. There's plenty of private off-road parking and even a helicopter landing space! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dingley Hotel Market Harborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dingley Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.