We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant for our son's naming day party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Angel Hotel to your Saves list
Angel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 High Street, Market Harborough LE16 7AF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“brilliant for our son's naming day party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just had our second son's naming day at the Angel Hotel. We also held our first son's there in 2011. Once again we all had a fantastic day and the staff were excellent. The young members of staff who helped during the day were polite, enthusiastic and a credit to the hotel. Our key contact from the point of booking was Eileen. Eileen is fantastic! Helpful, happy and a brilliant organiser. Eileen is without a doubt the linchpin in the organistion. Thank you all so much for making our son's day so special!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    53
    29
    17
    15
See reviews for
19
57
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I take my mother there every Wednesday for lunch. There is always something different on the menu, we always love there desserts, and the staff have become like friends to us. I always give my Mum a choice of where to go but she insists on going back to the Angel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay at the hotel we just went there for a meal. Service was okay but the staff didn't know what the roast of the day was or the soup or what the white fish was. Which is something you'd expect then to know. Food portions are very generous possibly too big at times as some of the group couldn't finish their meals. The goujons were bland and the chicken curry was described as chicken stew with added pepper. Though the rest of the mains were nice. Service was a nice pace and the overall bill matched the standard of food.
Okay meal but nothing special.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

bit surprised about so many bad reviews, maybe I don't have that high expectations...anyway, basic hotel, nothing luxury, but all in all it was fine, one should remember it's only a 3 star hotel!
had a very small room, but nice large ensuite with bath tub!
surely the carpets, furnitures etc are not new, but functionable and clean. and personally I liked the quirky style of the building as it is several hundred years old and could tell stories if it could speak:)
was very cold outside during my stay but heating was almost always on and room was always very warm and comfortable.
very nice choice of toiletries.
was very quiet too, but had a room to the courtyard, so it is surely different if the room leads to the main street..
staff was very friendly and helpful.
downstairs cosy pub with a fire place.
didn't eat breakfast there, so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went here for mothers' day 2012, it was not busy but we had to wait almost two hours for our food so we expected something great. They told us everything is cooked on the premises and as a vegetarian, i chose a cheese and red onion flan, but when it arrived on my plate, it was soggy, and hard inside, so i couldnt eat it. I complained and said it was so bad i wasnt willing to pay, which they accepted, but then to make up for it, they sneakily added glases of wine and bottles of beer. A disgraceful place for food and service

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Nothing but praise and appreciation for this hotel that is full of charm and character.Just having spent Christmas (4 days)2012 at this hotel....nothing could be faulted!
The staff were very welcoming and helpful and thoroughly professional with quiet efficiency!
The rooms we booked were spacious and very clean and full of the expected 'extras' such as iron and board,hairdryer and even a book on the history of the hotel!
There is a large secure carpark available.
The icing on the cake so to speak is the ambience.No request was too much trouble whatsoever.
We tried the full English breakfast,which was quality.We tried the full Xmas lunch menu which was thought out and special for the period and we tried the bar snacks that were generous.The staff deserve praise for making Xmas 2012 for us ..stress free!

Room Tip: Ground floor sable block rooms for handicap travllers and quick access to cap park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Xmas Party disco night 15/12/12. Not totally convinced we were at a party. Bar tender was slow and very confused about how to serve drinks & price of them. Staff working on food serving were excellent & very polite. Bedroom smelt of smoke, bathroom was very dated. The whole hotel wants decorating. Not a very satisfactory place for an overnight stay with friends, especially as we booked it.

Room Tip: If you want a good night out we don't recommend here. Our room was outside (probably an old out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel Hotel

Address: 37 High Street, Market Harborough LE16 7AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Market Harborough
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Market Harborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Hotel Market Harborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.