We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Three Swans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Three Swans Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Three Swans Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 High Street, Market Harborough LE16 7NJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
northamptonshire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Wedding base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We stayed at the three swans as were attending a wedding in the location, great room. Very clean, spacious and huge bed and was the perfect place to be after a fantastic wedding. Would recommend if visiting Market Harborough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    133
    47
    22
    10
See reviews for
43
113
16
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We stayed last December for a family do and all was well and came back again on Saturday 15th December 2012.

I personally think that this hotel is very good value for money. We checked into room 88 for one night on the 15 th December for a Xmas family do which was held in the Pen room, same hotel.

Room 88 was in an annexe behind the hotel and the room was absolutely fine for the £70 we were paying for the night (inc breakfast). A fairly basic room but clean and tidy with tea and coffee facilities plus a good shower over the bath.

A huge problem ruined our stay and it was not directly the hotel's fault -

We went back to our room at 12 midnight, and at 3am woke to our lovely neighbours in room 90 who, at 3am came back and had a party in their room. In all fairness to the hotel, we rang at 3.30am and the night porter asked them to turn their music off and threatened the police. However the noise continued through the night to 6.45am when the four (male) occupants must have fallen asleep. Shouting, yelling, flushing the noisy toilet, slamming wardrobe doors etc etc - all I can say, it's a hotel guest's nightmare! They were smoking too.

I must admit I left a note on their door! The sad thing is, that I stopped my husband from knocking on their door because you never know what sort of psycho might answer it.

As it turned out, the culprit was a local guy whose company had paid for the night and happily for me, the hotel got the guy's boss down the next morning - made him pay the bill and, as he'd been smoking in his room with his pals, and made him pay £50 for extra cleaning!

This is really not the sort of stay I relish but I must say Rosemary on reception on Sunday morning was furious that this had happened to us and kept me informed of events later in the day.

Although breakfast was included in the price, there was a long wait for a breakfast table and we went to Weatherspoons instead.

I really do think that after our night from hell and no breakfast, the hotel should have reduced our bill by a few pounds?


Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We liked our stay very much. The rooms were very clean.

The parking is free and there is plenty of space.

The internet was well working.

The breakfast was TOP.

The restaurant in the envening had a very good price/quality, we took the menu and it was perfect.

The bar at the street side is nice to drink a beer after business.

Ant most important the price is VERY OK.

I can only strongly recommend this BW.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel is right in the town centre and offers a wide varity of rooms some of which date back to the 17th century. It was our 3rd visit to this hotel and 3rd stay in room 101 the largest suite.we feel the room is getting a bit tired in places and may be ready for an update. Also the bedroom is over the function room and the disco did not finish until 12.30am We paid £125 for b/b so we do expect very high standards. The spa bath was excellent,the breakfast was full English buffet style service was spot on. Check in and out was smooth and efficient.
Would we return? Probably yes but would try to get the rate reduced next time.
Steve and san

Room Tip: Room101 but try get rate reduced as it is over priced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrasedmum54
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed at the Three Swans to attended a family party locally.
I have stayed in a number of Best Westerns but this one has tons of character a quite a history.
It has obviously been a coaching house in past times and it is even rumoured that Charles I stayed here during the civil war. The accommodation is spread over a number of separate buildings which could be a disadvantage to some - but we found it added to the quirky character of the hotel.
The rooms were exceptionally large, clean and nice and warm on what was a very cold night. The décor is a little dated but nothing that hinders your enjoyment of the hotel.Worth a mention is the breakfast - excellent value for money. And the service was excellent.

Room Tip: If you are in a large group request rooms near each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just returned from a lovely three night stay, the staff were extremely helpful (thanks Joe!), the room was warm, clean and comfortable and breakfast was as good as anything we've ever experienced. Whether you choose to dine in the bar or the restaurant the same standards apply and the food is delicious. Definitely recommend the lunchtime beef sandwich! We stayed during the art and craft weekend which was an extra bonus, the big conference suite was filled with an amazing variety of talented people exhibiting and selling their work. Market Harborough itself is a lovely little town to browse around. Thank you 3 Swans - we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel has historical roots allied to a modern 'conference' 'celebration' annexe that is really state of the art. The staff are real human beings and one is well looked after by people who are well motivated and genuinely intent on a 'good guest' experience. There is good choice of eating options from pub grub to imaginative and interesting menus professionally served with crisp white linen and unobtrusive, friendly and attentive staff. Rooms are fine and beds comfortable. The town is charming with a good sense of community and maintains an interesting old market hall with 'antiques' and 'collectables' at the weekend. All in all a relaxing and stress free place to stay whether it be for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for a room in the 'old' building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natasha40, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Three Swans Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards
Natasha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Three Swans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Three Swans Hotel

Address: 21 High Street, Market Harborough LE16 7NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Market Harborough
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Market Harborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Three Swans Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Three Swans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western The 3 Swans Hotel
Best Western Market Harborough
Market Harborough Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Three Swans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.