We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60th Birthday treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Choirs Vineyards

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Three Choirs Vineyards
Save
You added Three Choirs Vineyards to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Newent GL18 1LS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Newent B&B and Inns
Calne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“60th Birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was bought a wine tasting and lunch for 2 voucher, as a birthday present, so we decided to take advantage and book a room as well. Having had a family member stay previously there was no doubt that we would book one of the "Lodges" (there are only 3). Good Decision...

The atmosphere in the restaurant and lounge area was really good, we thoroughly enjoyed lounging on the sofas, having a quite coffee and reading the papers, in front of the log burner with attentive staff but not in "your face". Food good, wine good ... and has already been described in previous posts the Lodge was extremely comfortable, the highlight for my wife being the "roll top" bath.

would really recommend this as a "romantic" few days away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    51
    11
    10
    2
See reviews for
10
168
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed here for one night as a birthday treat and the experience could not have been better. The rooms are comfortable, warm and cosy (fantastic hot and powerful shower!) and we had a bottle of sparkly wine waiting for us on arrival. Everything was discreetly done - the staff were available but not obvious which was just what we wanted. We had a meal in the restaurant and breakfast the next morning and could not fault any of it - I would highly recommend the whole experience. We also visited Ross-on-Wye nearby and that just added to it - very friendly people and a great Christmas market!

Room Tip: All rooms are good - overlooking the vineyards
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Went with friends on a Travelzoo deal. Toured the vineyard, had a wine tasting and then retired to our rooms where we had a bottle of bubbly in an ice bucket as part of the deal.We ate in the restaurant which is not cheap but enjoyed our food. The wine list mainly consists of their own wine and was a little restrictive but I guess that's to be expected. After dinner we sat in front of the log fire in the lounge area enjoying the remainder of our wine.As others have mentioned, some of the decor in the bedrooms is a little jaded but we have had far worse and paid much more and the views are lovely.Although it was cold and wet whilst we were there, it would have been lovely to sit outside and enjoy the bubbly watching the sun go down.Breakfast next morning was freshly cooked and good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Bought as a travelzoo Bed and breakfast deal, we came with friends and had a really enjoyable time . The rooms have a wonderful view of the vineyard and although the furniture is a little old fashioned the fabulous aspect made up for this. We did not have any problems with the bathroom plumbing !
The tour of the winery and wine tasting was really interesting and we all fell for the "Classic Cuvee" sparkling wine .
We ate at the restaurant in the evening. The prices looked a bit high but we soon discovered that our meals were in fact good value as were the wines . I had Brill as a main course it was just delicious.
Having slept well we had a delicious full English breakfast ( excellent bacon and local sausage ! )
Thank you Three Choirs . We hope to come again soon.

Room Tip: The rooms near the restaurant all have lovely hillside views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

There were many positives to our stay and a few negatives. We were welcomed on arrival and told how to find our room. The room we had was in a block overlooking the vineyard. We found nice little touches like complimentary chocolate nibbles and proper ground coffee for the morning. Some of the decor was tired - the wallpaper peeling and stains on most of the furniture tops (sideboard, dressing table) which was sad as they were nice pieces of
furniture. The bathroom was a real let down and looked like it hadn't been renovated since the 80's. it was very cheap looking and for £120 a night you expect a bit more. The water system in the block seemed to be terrible. It may have just been a problem in our room but I doubt it. There was terrible clunking and banging from the water system whenever anyone used any water, especially hot water in the morning or the evening. We wanted a relaxed romantic break - so we didn't want to get up at the crack of dawn. Some of our neighbours did, however, fair enough if they want an early shower, but it did wake us very early both mornings when the system clanked for what seemed like hours. I certainly couldn't sleep through it. There was also an odd beeping noise that occurred frequently. I realised the next day that it was coming from the wine warehouse/depot which is behind the accommodation block. The view was spectacular and really special. We were lucky enough to be able to sit out on a couple of occasions and it was lovely. Breakfast was in the dining room and was very nice. I loved the marinated yoghurt, fruit and granola (which isn't usually my kind of thing) and I enjoyed the eggs benedict. We had two cafatieres of coffee and stayed looking out at the vineyard for two hours so we were very relaxed and not rushed to leave. The walks around the vineyard are lovely. they do not restrict your access and we had an enjoyable walk for a couple of hours (walking off breakfast!). Some of the self guided tour stations (huts with audio options to select with history/info about the vineyard & wine) were broken but the ones that were working were worth listening to. We had been bought a lunch and wine tasting/tour voucher and so had lunch relatively quickly after breakfast but it was tasty and the wine was lovely (Three Choirs Willowbrook). The staff were generally very nice and friendly with only one waitress who never smiled and was grumpy. We were disappointed that we weren't allowed to swap our lunch for dinner and pay a supplement. This would have meant we had more room for the food and wouldn't have had to cut back on breakfast. We then joined the wine tour which was fun and interesting. Well worth it and the wine was delicious and well priced (not as expensive as some English vineyards) - we bought quite a few bottles. They also have nice homegrown beer and cider. The man who works in the shop and restaurant was lovely and helpful. He gave us an ice bucket to use to cool our newly purchased sparkling wine. All in all a really lovely, memorable, trip. A few changes/improvements would have made it perfect.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here as part of a deal which started with a wine tour and tasting. We were very impressed - we used to visit Three Choirs in the '80's, and it was wonderful to see how everything has evolved. We enjoyed the tour, which was very informative, and we enjoyed tasting a selection of very enjoyable wines. After the tour we checked into our room, which was delightful, with wonderful views over the golden vines. The room was very clean and comfortable. There is a little patio area, outside each room, and we were able to sit and enjoy a coffee in late afternoon sunshine, before going for a walk around the vineyard. We could have been in France! That night we left our curtains open so that we could awake to the glorious views - a bit disconcerting when the grape pickers and tractors arrived at the vines around 8am. Still they had a job to do, and it added to the interest - and fortunately we had just got out of bed!

We ate in the restaurant, the service was good, and we enjoyed our meal. Breakfast was also very pleasant, with a good choice. A lovely stay, and we have now booked for our daughter and her boyfriend to stay here in the New Year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Unusual accommodation in purpose built row of rooms overlooking the vineyard. Beautifully done with lovely bathroom. Stayed as part of a deal and had dinner plus bottle of bubbly in ice bucket on arrival. Meal was good but the wine was mostly their own and rather expensive. Did the wine tour which was interesting.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlooked the vineyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Choirs Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Choirs Vineyards

Address: Newent GL18 1LS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Newent
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Choirs Vineyards 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
3 Choirs Vineyards
Three Choirs Vineyards Hotel Newent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Choirs Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.