We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The International Centre for Birds of Prey

The International Centre for Birds of Prey
Boulsdon House, Newent GL18 1JJ , England
++ 44 (0)1531 820286
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Newent
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

There are a great variety of birds and it is refreshing that they are taking part in conservation projects and breeding programmes. The flying displays are spectacular and they fly a good range of birds. They also demonstrated training a couple of the birds and we were introduced to two very cute baby owls. The grounds are also very well set out with pretty gardens and wonderful views. The cafe serves simple but delicious food at good prices. A great day out for all the family.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    34
    5
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Birds of prey entertain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Large collection of birds of prey on display.
Excellent flying demonstration with humerous commentary
Free car parking

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We got a voucher from Groupon, not really knowing what to expect and went over one sunny Sunday afternoon; really glad we did! I loved the fact that we could get so close to the birds and we ended up staying to watch 2 displays which were informative, witty and breathtaking.

In-between the displays, staff train young birds and it felt like we were having a private showing. The scenery is beautiful and the centre has a family run feel about the place. What made our day was 1) seeing a snowy owl fly 2) seeing 2 x baby owls in a box on the counter in the shop for people to get close up to. They were just randomly sitting there!

We will definetely return for the Owls By night experience. Oh and the homemade cake in the cafe was delish too!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We visited with a groupon voucher and had a really good day. Lovely location brilliant staff the owner/ manager jemima was so funny and told us so much about the birds. Watching the fly on demonstration was amazing. Well worth a visit 10/10

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Somerset
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

So surprised at the sheer number of birds here. Over 100! Obviously doing a fantastic job in protecting and promoting these incredible creatures.

The display we saw was the best we had ever seen, you are SO close, and the relationship between handlers and birds is simply awe inspiring.

Excellent cafe, providing home cooked food. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The International Centre for Birds of Prey also viewed

 
Coleford, Forest of Dean
Coleford, Forest of Dean
 

Been to The International Centre for Birds of Prey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The International Centre for Birds of Prey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.