We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny restaurant with tempting menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship - CLOSED

The Ship
Kings Quay St, Harwich CO12 3HB, England
01255553727
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Now in his 3rd year at the ship restaurant chef James Sallows welcomes you to his intimate yet fulfilling eating establishment. Fresh food is the key, accompanied by a well thought out and hand picked wine list, a friendly and welcoming service awaits you and artwork by local artists is in abundance for your viewing and purchasing pleasures.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tiny restaurant with tempting menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We booked in advance which was just as well - I hadn't realised how small the restaurant is (we counted 20 covers) with only three staff including the chef on the evening we were there. The menu offered a lot of attractive options so that it was hard to choose. Prices were reasonable for both food and drink. The only drawback was that we had to wait quite a time for our main course, and then dessert, to appear, but this was unavoidable given the nature of the enterprise. It was fascinating to be able to glimpse into the kitchen - clearly the staff were working as hard as they could. I would be happy to return, with time in hand, as the food was beautifully cooked and served.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

After checking trip advisor we decided to visit The ship at the spur of the moment yesterday evening. Not having done much research we were expecting a pub more than a restaurant but was pleasantly surprised as this is a small friendly restaurant with 6 tables set up of varying sizes whilst we were there. The service and the food were both great and I would particularly recommend the Roasted Pepper and Courgette soup. We also liked the fact that the kitchen could be viewed at work from the dining area. We plan to return in the near future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, England
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friends Birthday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a very small restaraunt and is very popular so you need to book well in advance. The food is home cooked and of high standard and pentiful. They often to themed nights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Superb alround”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Our meal for two at The Ship was simply delightful. The food was excellently cooked and nicely presented. Service was good and the atmosphere was pleasantly relaxed. And even the bill was pleasingly modest. We'll be back!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“EVENING 3COURSE MEAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

You could not fault this BEAUTIFUL meal in any way.It was hot,well presented and tasted absolutely BEAUTIFUL.The Plaice was fresh and cooked to perfection~the goats cheese starter i would order again&again & the peanut~butter cheesecake was dreamy!i would rather eat in here than ANY top London restaurant,and such value for money,i have paid double in London for meals not a patch on this place.Would STRONGLY recommend to all A************************************** did not book but they gave us a table no fuss.
And there was a proposal going on in there at the time!!!!!!!How exciting.WELL DONE to James the chef and THANK~YOU.R.
p.s.the pork looked good too on it's way through the serving hatch but i was not disappointed with my choice of fish AT ALL but would LOVE to try Duck in there at some point.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.