We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect start for a cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pier Hotel at Harwich

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Pier Hotel at Harwich to your Saves list
The Pier Hotel at Harwich
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Quay, Harwich CO12 3HH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Harwich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“A perfect start for a cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

The Pier Hotel was perfect! We had room 8 which was in the boathouse next door. It was spacious with a small living room great and comfortable bed, and spacious bathroom. The meals were delicious and the breakfast (included) was amazing, full english breakfast, with a continental buffet. We were there for 2 days prior to a cruise. There isn't a whole lot to do in Harwich but our stay at the Pier made it all worthwhile!

Room Tip: Room 8 is on ground level (no lifts at the hotel) and is very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    74
    16
    2
    5
See reviews for
26
120
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southwold
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Business trip with a colleague. He was very impressed with hotel as was I. Bar meals were excellent as was breakfast. It's a great location and very handy for working in Harwich, Clacton or anywhere within a 10 mile radius.

Room Tip: Sorry no fitness or pool but I couldn't turn off the buttons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

A beautiful meal in a lovely setting with great friendly staff. We had a main course fish curry and the sea bream both well cooked and perfectly served. Two delicious desserts to follow treacle tart with the best stem ginger ice cream I have ever tasted and a plum pudding. Thoroughly enjoyed our day out to The Pier.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Again my wife and I and two friends had a meal in the "downstairs" restaurant and as usual they
came up trumps. On the advice of "sweet Caroline" I had the venison and what a choice it was.,
All the staff were great and attentive (as usual). We all left the Pier feeling well "Fed Up" and
well satisfied.
Well done the Pier and its staff

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on the night prior to leaving on a cruise from the Port of Harwich. We chose to have dinner in the Bistro and thoroughly enjoyed the meal with friendly and efficient service. The accommodation was excellent and found the front desk staff to be very courteous and helpful. The room was large with a comfortable bed and separate sitting area. The breakfast which was included in our room tariff included continental selection and boiled eggs with soldiers with several other choices. The young waiting staff were delightful and friendly. Would definitely eat and stay at this hotel when in Harwich again.

Room Tip: In room 8 where we stayed there was a step between the sitting room and the bathroom which was a tri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch in the restaurant downstairs recently, a first time visit for us but a few friends have recommended it . It was very good, we thoroughly enjoyed our food. We had oysters followed by skate wings both of which were excellent. We both liked the fact that you were never rushed and the staff were very helpful and had just the right manner. Would definitely recommend going and we will certainly return, in fact thinking of staying at Christmas. We were shown some rooms all of which were nicely presented some had wonderful views and others varied in size but I would have been happy in any of them.
Altogether very good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a terrific place to stay, not cheap but wonderful. We had two rooms, and had the dinner bed and breakfast package. Dinner delicious, breakfast sensational. The highlight was catching the sea shanty singers on Sunday over a cheeky glass of midday fizz.
Whilst they are dog friendly and Sybil the schnauzer loved it there, they do encourage dogs to keep to one area which I think is just about right.

Room Tip: Ask for sea facing. If in a larger group ask of the second building as it has a massive private li...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pier Hotel at Harwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pier Hotel at Harwich

Address: The Quay, Harwich CO12 3HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Harwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Harwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pier Hotel at Harwich 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We thank you for your feedback, however we do not respond to individual comments. The Pier Hotel is located in two historic buildings that stand proudly on the quay side of old Harwich. The hotel's main building, built in the 1850's, houses two celebrated seafood restaurants - The Ha' Penny on the ground floor and the Harbourside on the first floor - and seven second-floor bedrooms, most of which overlook the estuary.The year 2000 saw the acquisition of the next door building, formerly the Angel public house, which dates back to the 1700's and is now fully refurbished and converted into a further seven bedrooms.All 14 bedrooms are carefully furnished with many individual touches and all have private bathrooms, satellite TV, minibars, telephone and welcome tea and coffee tray. In addition, the family-friendly feel of the hotel continues into the bedrooms with several of them offering sofa beds for accompanying children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Pier Hotel at Harwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pier At Harwich Hotel Harwich
Pier Hotel Harwich
The Pier Hotel Harwich
The Pier Hotel At Harwich England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pier Hotel at Harwich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.