We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Curry Ive ever had !!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Mogul

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Mogul
21 High Street, Saffron Walden CB10 1AT, England
01799 516611
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Worst Curry Ive ever had !!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My friend brought me to the Mogul in November 2012. First impressions were good and the starter and popadoms etc were fine. However when the main course arrived the Chicken tasted off I mean really bad... I have been eating curry for 16 years and this was the worst tasting main course I have ever been served!!!!! I left over half the chicken and only eat the sauce!!! I So wanted to complain but my friends who agreed the food was terrible didnt want to make a scene. I definitely wont be going there again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    10
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We ate here on a Saturday evening and loved it. The restaurant was warm and welcoming, busy and lively, but not noisy and crowded. The service was very professional, friendly and attentive from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. The menu had some really interesting specialties as well as the usual range of dishes that one expects in an Indian restaurant. Although some of the dishes were spicy, many were mild enough to be enjoyed by my son, so it works well for families. We really loved all of the dishes that we ordered - some of the best Indian food that we have had for a long time (and the best I have had outside of London and Bradford). The prices, including the wine list, were very reasonable. The total bill was lower than expected. We couldn't quite decipher the bill as some entries didn't seem to match what we had ordered so we thought perhaps we had the wrong bill, but the excellent staff quickly explained it and yes it really was a very reasonably priced meal. We loved the evening and will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never disappointing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

We're regular visitors to this restaurant and are never disappointed with either the quality of the food or the standard of the service. Great atmosphere and attentive waiters who are friendly and welcoming. The restaurant looks nothing from the outside buy is surprisingly large yet cosy on the inside.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Food always good but gets very busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We've eaten here loads of times, it's the best Indian in Saffron Walden in my view. They're always friendly and welcoming. Menu is typical British Indian, with one or two local specials. Food is always good, generous portions. Wine to be avoided really, stick to Kingfisher or Cobra...

Happy to welcome children.

When they get busy you can wait for up to half an hour even if you've reserved a table which is very frustrating.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good service but average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Went with some friends a few weeks ago. It was a Friday evening so the restaurant was quite busy and felt cramped at times but the waiters were prompt and polite. Service was quick but the food was nothing special and we wouldn't rush back here compared to other curry houses in the area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mogul also viewed

Saffron Walden, Essex
 
Saffron Walden, Essex
 

Been to The Mogul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mogul, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.