We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant visited” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Keys

Cross Keys
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saffron Walden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cross Keys
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   32 High Street, Saffron Walden CB10 1AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Saffron Walden B&B and Inns
Essex, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My best friend and I recently visited this gorgeous building, the staff were very welcoming and accommodating to our seating needs.
The menu looked absolutely delicious, but it was extremely difficult to make only one choice. There were two waitresses serving around our section, they were more than helpful to our inquisitiveness, as we were seated on the main thoroughfare from the kitchen to the tables, one waitress even quickly told us of every dish she was carrying as she quickly pass by us. All I can say they all looked absolutely gorgeous, still difficult to have chosen which looked the best.
My friend had the fish and chips, a large portion, and totally amazing she said, taste and presentation wise. I had the pork selection from the specials board, I think it was cooked three ways. Oh taste bud heaven !!! Of course we had to force room for dessert, and we were rewarded with another taste sensation, we opted for the fruit crumble, and they allowed my need for chocolate with a scoop of chocolate ice-cream on top, looked messy but was amazingly moreish !!
Need to go back again very soon, as I am typing this my mouth is watering in anticipation.
Well done Cross Keys, see you soon. (Just sad it cannot be an every night treat)

Room Tip: Just ate in the restaurant x
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    21
    5
    6
    4
See reviews for
13
25
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent a lovely night here in room 2, which is a sweet and cosy little double, with very comfortable king-size bed. This looks out over the busy SW High Street, so be aware that the traffic starts building up from 7.00am. There are rooms that look out over the adjacent King Street, which may be a lot quieter. We were staying in the town centre, though, after all, so noise was not entirely surprising!

We were extremely well looked after, the service was outstanding and the dinner (fixed price three course until 10.00pm on Mondays) was delicious and extremely filling - the fish and chips was more like a whale, but was melt-in-the-mouth in its flakiness.

The breakfast (we both had full English) was the largest I've seen in any hotel, was extremely fresh and the scrambled eggs to die for.

We would definitely recommend the Cross Keys wholeheartedly, as we would the wonderful market town and interestingly different shops of Saffron Walden.

Room Tip: As stated, rooms 3 to 6 may be quieter alongside King Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just spent a lovely weekend at the Cross Keys. We were in room 5 which was at the front of the hotel; we had the window open as it was hot, but were not disturbed by any outside noise. Neither did we hear any noise from the bar/restaurant downstairs.

Room was nicely decorated and of adequate size for our needs; bed was very comfortable with lovely soft pillows. Good size bathroom with nice shower and toiletries; towels also of good quality. There was a wall mounted flat screen TV, radio/I-pod dock, hair dryer, Krups coffee machine and hospitality tray in the room, plus free wi-fi. There is a small car park which is for the use of hotel guests only and you can access the hotel at the back with a fob key.

Breakfast was very good which we had in the coffee shop area as it was bright and airy. Choice of Continental (buffet style so you could have as much as you wanted), full English and various other options; I had the poached smoked haddock with wilted spinach which was excellent.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the lady in the cafe and the bar staff.

We did not eat in the hotel as it was very busy and had not booked, however the food looked very nice. We did however enjoy a drink outside on the terrace; you could actually see in to the kitchens through a large window!

We thought the hotel was of an excellent standard and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have eaten in the Cross Keys many times, for lunch and evening meal and have always experinced very helpful and attentive staff, the manager is particularly helpful.The food is good but can vary in quality, but mainly good. The ambiance is excellent and the recent refurb. has made this eating place one of the most attractive buildings in Saffron Walden, the interior decor creating a very enjoyable place to spend a lunchtime or evening socialising.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had a beautiful, spacious, oak panelled room (room 1) at the front of the pub which did have secondary glazing to keep the street noise down. Lovely comfy bed and good sized shower room. The TV was hidden behind one of the oak panels so it didn't detract from the old charm of the room. The coffee machine was a nice touch. The lighting was not good enough to see to put my make-up on and the lead of the hair dryer was not quite long enough to use in front of the mirror but these are the only minor points in an otherwise fabulous room.
The restaurant was lively, service quick and friendly and the food good. Breakfast the next morning was not quite as good as we were not offered cereal and I had to ask for juice and butter. I think this may be because we sat in the restaurant instead of the adjoining coffee shop where we found out later it was all set out. Saffron Walden is a lovely town well worth a wonder around. They also have some lovely municipal gardens worth exploring.
I would recommend this as a well priced, lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 1 (or Ace of Hearts) is very spacious and looks stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

A lovely hotel right in the heart of Saffron Walden. The room was clean and beautifully furnished. Bed very comfortable and spacious bathroom with excellent shower. Staff friendly and great breakfast. Lovely stay and highly recommended. Will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just been to the Cross Keys for the weekend and found it very pleasant - a small car park for the 6 guest rooms with it's own access direct to rooms. We had Room 6 which is the only room with a bath I believe. There is a shower unit attached but no shower curtain so difficult to use without flooding the room - I have mentioned this lack of a shower curtain to the proprieter so something may change soon! Bed was very comfortable and the room has a flat screen TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Great choice for breakfast and generous portions of locally sourced product. We didn't actually eat there, besides breakfast, but the restaurant seemed to be well supported and had a good menu. The location is on the corner of the High St and King St - which gets barricaded off on Saturday mornings for the local market. Even though our proximity to this was extreme we didn't hear a thing so no interrupted sleep for us!. Great location and comfortable surroundings!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cross Keys

Address: 32 High Street, Saffron Walden CB10 1AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Saffron Walden
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Saffron Walden
Hotel Class:4 star — Cross Keys 4*
Also Known As:
Cross Keys Saffron Walden, Essex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cross Keys to your Saves list