We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and no organisaton” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Zafferano

Cafe Zafferano
Market Hill, Saffron Walden, England
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Description: Italian Cafe and Bistro off the Market Square
Restaurant details
Description: Italian Cafe and Bistro off the Market Square
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dirty and no organisaton”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

The food was nice but not as enjoyable as it should have been as we were aware the place was very dirty.Outside was cigarette buts and general mess. It was our queue to walk out, being polite we stayed. We had eaten once before and I really do not know why we returned as the service was poor then. I thought it might have improved. They have a 5 star for food hygiene (unbelievable)One man cooking and 2 girls serving they cannot cope with everything, hence why things are dirty. There appears to be no organisation, people sitting at bare tables waiting far too long for a sandwich. Tables have no numbers so when you pay they have no idea who you are.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    2
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Good food but a bit cramped inside, and not the biggest piece of cake compared to a neighbouring table. Not sure this is the best in town.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food but slow service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I visited Cafe Zafferano for lunch today with my 10 year old daughter. I have eaten here before and had to wait a long time. I thought that time it was just a one off but going by our experience today it wasn't.
We arrived at 1.15, it was very busy and only one table was eating. There are 12 tables indoors and some outside in the patio garden. All tables well used and there was a party of 6-8 on the patio. The atmosphere inside is cosy and pleasant but it is rather crowded. My daughter who is very slim had to 'climb' into her seat to sit down. We sat down and waited for ten minutes for our order to be taken which was reasonable but, we then waited 25 minutes for our lunch to arrive. My daughter had ordered a sandwich and I had a Toastie. When we were served the gentleman on the table next to us told the waitress he had 'been waiting for ages', they had placed their order before we had arrived at the cafe. His order arrived a few minutes later, it was 3 Toasties. He had waited for over 45 minutes! Another lady had ordered a pasta dish and had to tell the waiter the sauce was missing.
There were two staff waiting on tables, one man cooking and another appeared to be helping out and covering the sandwich bar.
The food is freshly cooked on the premises but they obviously cannot cope with the amount of covers at lunch time. If a couple of small tables inside were removed it would alleviate the crowding and cut down on the amount of orders. If they do not want to do that then employ another chef to cope with lunch time.
The food here is very nice but the service lets it down.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012 via mobile

Waited 40 minutes for food to arrive and then they had forgotten the side order. Food nothing special for the price
What is wrong with putting cutlery on the table before bringing the food out instead of leaving the customer waiting with food going cold for the cutlery to arrive?
If the got the basics right, they could do well.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Slow...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Myself and a friend popped in for a late lunch and we waited an hour for a quiche and a pasta bake. Pity because it was good when it arrived

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zafferano also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Zafferano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Zafferano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.