We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great combination of real country pub with great dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Museum Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Museum Inn to your Saves list
The Museum Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   High Street, Farnham DT11 8DE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Farnham B&B and Inns
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great combination of real country pub with great dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Been coming here for years,I like the fact that you just come in with your wellies on and your dog and have a pint of local beer in the flagstone floor bar or dress up a bit and eat in one of 3 carpeted dining areas with a smarter feel,although there were 3 dogs in the small room we were in.Food is upmarket gastro pub, well presented and locally sourced.Good sized starters such as Dorset Blue Vinny souffle(£7), hand dived scallops with crab risotto(£9)-enough for light lunch, followed by good sized Sunday roast with all the trimmings- beautiful medium rare beef, cauliflower cheese,3 other veg,roasties which were they only disappointment (bit hard) and big puffy crispy Yorkshires and gravy.Hard to finish after a starter! Good puddings too for those with room left including a scoop of ice cream+espresso if you can't manage chocolate &Guinness torte or sticky toffee pudding.
Pub located in Cranborne Chase Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty with wonderful walks in the vicinity.Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    31
    18
    12
    5
See reviews for
17
53
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have been to The Museum quite a few times for drinks but last week we had Sunday lunch, the food was absolutely lovely and not over priced as some very close by...
H & G (landlords)were lovely and very friendly as were all the locals we met.

We will certainly be going back for drinks and food, we will be accompanied by a lively puppy next time which were reliably informed would be very welcome.
Cant wait.

R x

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed in the General's room which is a nice big room for 3 of us (2 adults and a 2 year old). Breakfast is nice but only comment is that there is a price list on it (which was irrelevant to us as we had breakfast included) but you could get a full English for the same price as 3 tiny croissants, kinda made me feel sorry for anyone that doesn't want to eat so much as they have to pay anyway! Also the food is nice, not amazing but nice but for the price you are paying it needs to be much better considering the portions aren't huge. Also on weekends it gets busy and sometimes service slips as they can't seem to handle it. All in all though it was great and i would definitely go back and stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is my second stay with my boyfriend.
When we came here first we loved it. We wanted to come back. And we did.
Rooms are gorgeous. Very homely. The breakfast is very tasty.
I would recommend this pub/ hotel.
We definitely want to come back.
Located in a very peaceful area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding reception at The Museum. The staff could not do enough for us and our guests. We had 34 for a wedding breakfast at 4pm and we gave our guests a menu choice and Helena and all her staff managed to deliver a fantastic 3 course meal to all our guests. The food was fantastic and with guests from France and London wowed by the food we were delighted. We stayed in the large and lovely General Suite with a 4 poster bed and balcony. We are fans of the venue and pleased to have introduced another 34 new fans. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Sweet pub with lovely warm decor. Having been to both the museum and the King John Inn, the King John Inn did serve much better and more accomplished gastro pub food. However, the service and the food was good here and better value in some ways. The crab risotto with scallops was excellent as was my pork terrine. The mains were also good, but the steak we ordered was cooked a little too rare (nearly blue) to be medium rare, but it was good all the same. The lamb with polenta was really nice. Service was friendly and efficient and the wine / beers good. Overall lovely little pub for a good plate of food and we had a lovely relaxed evening.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Farnham is a delightful small village in the heart of Dorset with thatched cottages, delightful small church and this wonderful Inn serving excellent food and a wide range of wines. Real Ale also available. We enjoyed a lunch with friends in the bar area where the food was beautifully presented and some delicious combinatins including Welsh Rarebit with Snails.

We stayed in one of the Stable Rooms which was of a good size but does overlook the car park (or in our case a marquee as we were attending a wedding!). The beds were comfortable and a delightful range of teas/coffee provided.

Breakfast was an enjoyable affair with lots of local food on the menu including eggs, sausages, and bacon. Smoked Haddock and Salmon also available.

Makes a lovely venue for a weekend away if you wish to walk, or visit nearby Salisbury or Bournemouth.

Room Tip: Stable rooms are all on the ground floor making access for those with mobility issues much easier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Museum Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Museum Inn

Address: High Street, Farnham DT11 8DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Museum Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Museum Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Museum Hotel Farnham
The Museum Inn Farnham, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Museum Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.