We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great time we had! Katherine k” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Point Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock Point Inn
Save
You added Rock Point Inn to your Saves list
Broad St, Lyme Regis DT7 3QD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 41 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
doncaster
1 review
“What a great time we had! Katherine k”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

A really wonderful place to stay. Lovely welcoming staff and very comfortable rooms with all mod cons. The food was delicious and we will definately be staying there again if we are able to book! They are always full.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely but room 2 is very spacious with 2 windows with a panoramic view of Lyme Bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
4
23
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This is the most disgusting place to stay in a delightful setting. It is over priced (£80) for a small double room with shower - room only. The place stank and was incredibly noisy - it sounded like the (industrial size) kitchen extractor fan was actually in our bedroom. We both felt sick from the moment we entered the room to the moment we left. If they hadn't taken a hefty deposit I'd have left. Our hair & clothes stank of old chip fat - it was a relief to leave and get out in the fresh air. Never never never again.... utterly revolting

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ladygsh, Guest Relations Manager at Rock Point Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
I am sorry that these guests failed to enjoy their stay with us, but feel a response at being described as 'disgusting' and 'utterly revolting' is needed. We demand the highest of standards from al our chambermaid employees and room wise these standards are adhered to on a daily basis. With regard to noise, we do our upmost to keep this to minimum. All our potential guests will be aware that this is a public house with a riverside restaurant, we serve drinks and quality food during the day and in the evening, a working kitchen is a sure sign of a busy kitchen and so an element of noise is surely to be expected! Incidentally, we do not have an 'industrial sized kitchen extractor'! Our location is 'prime' location, in the town and nestled next to the beach - can £80 for a double room really be described as 'over priced'? These guests have stated that had they not paid a 'hefty' deposit they would of checked out; again, £30 can not surely be classed as 'hefty' and a deposit by default indicates that in the event of a guest not being entirely satisfied this can be negotiated. More over, the picture being painted here would seem that had it truly been as 'utterly revolting' and 'disgusting' why on earth was there no mention of this?

How can issues be rectified if certain cliental wait until only until they have retreated home to comment?

In closing I would like to add that the impression of £80 - Room Only - gives a cloak and dagger feel. We state quite clearly that we are room only, therefore it is up to the guest to decide wether this is suited to them prior to booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for a last minute trip to Lyme Regis.
The location is great. Right against the seafront and at the bottom of the hight street of Lyme Regis itself.
There are 2 short stay car parks by the Hotel so for longer visits I'd recommend the long stay car park at the very top of the hill which is only £1.75 for 24hrs! DON'T get stung using the NCP car park half way up the high street!
We booked the king size room which faces the sea. There are 2 lovely large windows in the room looking straight out onto the water. Good comfortable king size bed. Lovely en-suite bathroom. The room was clean and tidy. Although it wasn't an issue for us it's worth pointing out there isn't a wardrobe or set of drawers in the room, just 2 bedside table and some coat hooks with coat hangers provided.
Our TV didn't work which really wasn't too much of a problem. We pointed it out should it have been a "user" error and after someone came to check the TV we were offered the chance to use the penthouse room to watch TV for the evening if we wanted it.
Overall I'd recommend a stay here for it's location and views alone. Room 2 was the king size room and having seen the penthouse room also I would suggest that's worth staying in too!

Room Tip: Room 2 - King size. Amazing sea views Room 5 - Penthouse. Large room, great spec, amazing sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed in a lovely penthouse room with fabulous views across the bay. Very exciting views too on a stormy weekend with floods all around us. We had trouble getting across the road for our breakfast as the gales were so strong but it was certainly worth the struggle as we enjoyed a great full English and excellent service there too. The staff at the Rock Point were all welcoming, friendly, helpful and keen to please. The downside of this hotel has been well documented - pub entrance and lack of parking. Also, I would have appreciated the usual toiletries in the bathroom, rather than a couple of tablets of soap and lack of surfaces in the bathroom meant that I had nowhere to perch my soap bag and toiletries. Also a couple of hooks and towel rails to hang towels and robes would be nice. Penthouse entrance is a bit narrow and not very suitable for elderly or disabled but there are 4 other rooms on a lower floor which are easy to reach. Do visit this nice pub and you will receive a warm welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We spent the night at The Rock Point Inn and had a wonderful stay! I do agree that the entrance to the rooms, through the pub and past the kitchen, is not very attractive but I think you need to accept this to be part of the feel of an old Inn. The location is fantastic, the staff couldn't be more helpful and the rooms are some of the neatest we have stayed in in England. Modest but they have everything you need and the decor is very tasteful (horray!!). We had dinner in the pub in the evening overlooking the sea and we had the best seafood chowder we have ever tasted!! Not offering breakfast wasn't an issue and I would highly recommend The Towm Mill Bakery on Coombe street if you dont fancy a big fry up but for a unique experience. All in all it was a lovely stay in a lovely part of the world. We'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

The Penthouse room is a must with views to die for. Plenty of room to swing a cat and had the bathroom of all bathrooms which inc a bath for two and a huge walk-in shower.We felt like A-List celebrities staying at a exclusive resort without the paparatzi! Our stay in Lyme Regis was due to a family member getting married, therefore over 20 members of our family were staying in different hotels.Not only did we stay for 3 nights we also ate at the Rock Point Inn with four other family members who were staying at The Bay Hotel and they where amazed and jealous of what we had compared to theirs. The food was excellent, the portions were large and the menu was varied, compliments to Carlos the chef. The barstaff, John, Matthew and Tom were very friendly and funny which made us feel very welcome as if we were long time locals. Also a very big thankyou must go to Gail, the owner, who has created a fantastic team of staff and a wonderful place to stay, we will definately be returning to see them again.

Room Tip: Double rooms are adequate but if you can manage an extra 10 steps and want something extra special t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Get the penthouse room! It's a huge room with a comfy bed and a bathroom worthy of a rock stars house. Its certainly worth it. Great views from the large window over the Cobb and Golden Cap. Seagulls in the morning. Seaside bliss.

After a hard days walking the food was perfect - reasonably priced and good portion size. I'll be back next year when my legs take me walking again.

Room Tip: The Penthouse is certainly worth the extra. The room is huge and the views excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rock Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Point Inn

Address: Broad St, Lyme Regis DT7 3QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Rock Point Hotel
Rock Point Inn Lyme Regis, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.