We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting, Israely Breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Beach House Cafe

The Beach House Cafe
24 Marine Parade | Lyme Regis, Lyme Regis DT73JF, England
1297 445923
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 64 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Exciting, Israely Breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Excellent Value for money, cheap as chips, lovely location on the beach at the beautiful Lyme Regis. Food was excellent and well presented. We had, falafel, pitta bread, houmous, olives and red cabbage and shredded carrot also a Greek salad. Falafel was homemade as well as the houmous absolutely delish, portions were plentiful, would certainly visit again. Thank you

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    11
    0
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
weymouth
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Expensive coffee -- poor quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We only stopped here for a coffee and a sit down for a short rest. The view out of the front was excellent -- Lyme Regis harbour and the Cob.

Unfortunately the service did not match up to the view. It took ages for the women behind the counter to sort out the customer in front of us, while clearing away used crockery at the same time, and then she had to search for the credit-card machine thing to take the payment.

I was eventually served and was somewhat taken aback when I was asked for £5.10 for two cups of coffee -- maybe I should have checked the prices on a menu before I ordered (if there had been one available). Never mind, I had been served so sat down to drink my coffee. It was by a long way the worst cup of coffee that I have had in a long time. It was so bitter it was almost undrinkable.

When we left we checked the restaurant a few yards away and their coffee was just £1.50 a cup.

We live and learn.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Try this beach-side Cafe for great value freshly cooked meals!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Living in Lyme Regis you get to know the cafes and restaurants that offer the best value.
Yesterday, we dropped in to The Beach House Cafe after a long walk that had built up our appetites. My wife ordered the falafel with pitta bread and salad and I chose the all-day breakfast.
Both meals were freshly cooked, nicely presented and served up quickly. We always sit outside
when we can as we like to people-watch or just gaze at the beach which is only a few strides away from the tables and chairs. The café is run by Audrey and her daughter Kate. It's become a favourite not least because they always try to vary the menu with some good specials. So you don't just see the same old things time after time like you do in some eateries.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best coronation chicken EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Lyme Regis is a bit expensive when it comes to getting food, no one really wants to spend £7 on a baguette --- unless it is pure palatable heaven! What I had was simply perfection. I'll start with the boring bit first, the baguette itself. It was so fresh and perfect! Yes, that is the boring bit because nothing and I mean NOTHING can come close to that coronation chicken. Firstly, there was so much of it. None of this tight no filling stuff. There was so much I did not know where to start! It was simply the best I've ever tasted. The blend of flavours was exquisite. A hint of apricot, a whiz of mustard, some mayonnaise and really fresh chicken. It's worth noting I don't even like apricot or mustard! Yet this was perfect. I am a fairly big eater but this filled me up. That is very rare for a baguette. The view is brilliant outside, who doesn't like the beach, the sea and the wonderful sea air. Every single person in our group loved their food, what can I say. A brilliant little place to eat and I shall be returning!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic vegetarian food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I visited this cafe whilst visiting the local area with family. After a frustrating while trying to find a place which served a decent vegetarian lunch at a reasonable price (over £7 for a baguette?!) I finally came across The Beach House Cafe, which was a quaint little cafe right on the beach front. I have to say the food, atmosphere, service etc was fantastic! There was a group of six of us and everybody was absolutely thrilled with their food, and was easily the best lunch we have ever had in the area - my family's still talking about the coronation chicken!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beach House Cafe also viewed

Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to The Beach House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beach House Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.