We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local press restaurant review was accurate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Purple Parsnip - CLOSED

The Purple Parsnip
14-15 Monmouth St, Lyme Regis, Dorset DT7 3PX, Lyme Regis DT7 3PX, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
Description: A family friendly bistro with delicious homemade food in the heart Lyme Regis.
Restaurant details
Description: A family friendly bistro with delicious homemade food in the heart Lyme Regis.
Seaton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Local press restaurant review was accurate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had dinner at the Purple Parsnip last Friday before going to see a comedian at the Marine Theatre. We had seen a review in the local press which was a little negative but decided to give this new, local enterprise the benefit of the doubt Unfortunately, our table for 2 was quite close to the bar (bizarrely most tables were set up for 6-8 diners) where the waitresses chatted over-enthusiastically amongst themselves and the Maitre D' spent most of the time talking so loudly on the phone it got to the point where we felt almost part of his conversation. Service was slow despite there being only 1 other table of 2 occupied when we dined. The starters were ok - garlic mushrooms in a lovely creamy sauce with home-made bread. When the main courses arrived, we had a steak and a chicken dish, they were really bland without any seasoning at all. Also, we had to remind the waitresses to bring cutlery and had to request water more than once. Great location and super potential, but with so much choice in Lyme they need to pay more attention to customer service and flavourings.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A cure for jaded taste-buds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

After nearly a week of pub grub, restaurant meals, Full English Breakfasts - all of them very good, plenty of fresh local produce and seafood - fancied something a little different. The Purple Parsnip was just down the road from where we were staying, with a menu of burgers, Mexican and other spicy dishes - something different, at least. It was brilliant! I had a Jalapeno and Cajun Burger: a giant of a thing served with salad and chips. The home-made burger was infused with spices and accompanied by cooked peppers and onions. It was hot and spicy, without being too hot and losing the individual flavours; delicious. Excellent value for money too. Wish we had found it earlier in the week - would certainly have gone back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Just what Lyme was waiting for.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have just come home after an excellent meal, my husband is a real fan of burgers and he wasn't disappointed, the burger was as good as any he has ever had. PRAISE indeed from Mr Fussy. Mark the owner is very friendly and went out of his way to please and be helpful. I had a yummy chicken thing and the portion was so generous I couldn't finish it. Neither of us had enough room for pudding which was a pity as they looked great. We will definitely become regulars, as the prices are very good too. Thank you.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Hidden gem up a side street, great name!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

A small bistro style place, well run, attentive staff, an owner who is happy serving. Really well produced Sunday lunch with roast meats luscious gravy and trimmings. Followed by a varied puddings board. Good quality ethical coffee, well made too!... And that's from someone who works in an Artisan Coffee House ;0)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Had not seen this restaurant/cafe before as its newly opened. Nicely decorated, spotlessly clean and very friendly, large windows so you can see the world outside, We went for lunch. Reading the menu very quickly you think its more "meals" than light lunches, but studying it properly you realise that there are light bites. I had a bowl of tomato and chorizo soup with a large chunk of delicious bread, hubby had tortillas with chicken, lentils, roasted vegetables and sour cream. Both served on wooden platters and both delicious. The table next to us had homemade burgers and chips, which was very well presented. The staff were very friendly and full of chatter. The bill for our meal with two coffees came to £16, which was very reasonable. I would definitely recommend this place and wish them luck in their new venture.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purple Parsnip also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Purple Parsnip, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.