We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Retreat.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rotherfield House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rotherfield House B&B
Save
You added Rotherfield House B&B to your Saves list
View Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aberdare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Five Star Retreat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We were absolutely delighted with our two night stay at Rotherfield House last week. Our suite was spotlessly clean and very spacious having the benefit of a separate sitting/breakfast room. Both rooms were extremely comfortable with many good quality " extras " provided to make you feel at home.
Breakfast was absolutely first class with more than enough choice to satisfy all tastes.As others have said, more like a Boutique hotel than a B & B with the high standards being a credit to owners Jaqui and Andy who provided a very warm welcome on a cold and wet day.
We will definitely return next time we visit the area and have already recommended Rotherfield House to others.

Room Tip: Highly recommend the the Patio Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
133
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Have just spent a night at Rotherfield House and it was a delight. We arrived after a long day of hiking to be met by the friendly and helpful owner Jaqui. The Garden Suite is very clean and decorated with taste and style. The room also has a lounge/dining area whcih is a nice touch and extra space. We were weary and thrilled to have tea/coffee in the room and an amazing selection of snacks including delicious biscuits and chocolate (this chocoholic satisfied!). We had a great nights sleep and woke to brilliant sunshine. This meant we were able to enjoy the best breakfast we have had in a very long time out on the patio. Breakfast was sumptuous with continental choices to start, followed by a cooked breakfast fit for a king (the smoked haddock and spinch bake with a poached egg....heavenly). Jaqui was very accomodating and allowed us to soak up the sunshine and have a very late check out. Thank you for making our hiking trip to Lyme Regis perfect!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the added space of the lounge/dining room in the garden suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

More like boutique hotel. Stayed earlier in the summer, beautiful room, breakfast to die for, kept us going all day. Best hospitality tray everything perfect. Jaqui the owner could not have been more friendly or helpful. Would and have recommended it to everybody. Will defo be back!

Room Tip: Both rooms lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Stayed here for three nights, wish we could have stayed longer. Fantastic place to stay, lovely hosts. Breakfast to die for. So pleased to have found Rotherfield House, have already recommended to friends. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ODense
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Rotherfield House this summer. The room was fantastic, we had a view of the sea. The breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The proprietor was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Great B & B with wonderful modern bedrooms.Breakfast was fantastic, lots to choose from.Location was good and near the beach and town.
The owners Andy and Jaqui were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble.Would definitely go back again.
Thanks Andy and Jaqui.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Whilst looking for a place to stay in Lyme Regis we came across The Rotherfield on the Internet, the pictures looks beautiful and top of the range but we really didn't expect it to be as good as it looks.

On the day of our travel we received a courtesy call from Jacqui to let us know our room was ready, once we got there we received the warmest welcome from both Jacqui and Andy and this friendly, genuine interaction continued throughout
our stay.

The rooms were exceptional, including the most comfortable bed and high quality bedding, giving us both a restful sleep. The attention to detail covered every need for the weekend.

It was lovely to have our own access to our rooms and we made good use of the private patio's outside.

The breakfast was delicious and catered for the fussiest palette (I should know).

I would love to go here again and hope to in the future, it was well worth the travel and very good quality for money.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rotherfield House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotherfield House B&B

Address: View Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious contemporary guest accommodation in the heart of Lyme Regis, just a few hundred metres from the beach and High Street. At Rotherfield House our aim is to give you the freedom and convenience to come and go as you please, much like a hotel, but with all those personal touches you only get from an independent guest house. Our newly refurbished rooms enjoy independent access directly from private patios which have views to the sea and Jurassic Coast. Both rooms are beautifully appointed with Egyptian cotton bedding, modern shower rooms, Satellite TV/DVD, ipod dock, free WiFi, your own kitchen facilities stocked with breakfast welcome pack. Each room has allocated on-site parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rotherfield House B&B Lyme Regis, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rotherfield House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.