We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous for lunch and tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill Cafe and Supper Club - CLOSED

The Mill Cafe and Supper Club
The Town Mill | Mill Lane, Lyme Regis DT7 3PU, England
+44 1297 445757
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Cafe and Supper Club with outside seating in the oldest part of Lyme Regis
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous for lunch and tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were in Lyme Regis for a week (with children) and went repeatedly to this cafe and restaurant. The food was outstanding at lunchtime (fresh and tasty as well as very good quality ingredients) and the cakes for afternoon tea were stunning. It's only open in the evenings for part of the week, and the (very limited choice) menu on offer when we were there didn't work for the children, so we were very sorry to miss dinner there. I would love to go back and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    18
    5
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mill Cafe Supper Club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our final evening after a week in Lyme saw us grab a table in the excellent, intimate Mill Cafe which by day is - as it says on the tin - a cafe, but by evening, towards the end of the week and the weekend, transforms itself into a 'supper club' offering a revolving set menu for diners with some wonderful, hearty Italian fare dependant on what's in season and available locally. After the wine we wanted wasn't on the menu, we were offered a fabulous bottle of Montepulciano at the same price as the bottle we originally wanted - really nice touch! And the food also really hit the spot. So nice to see food that is clearly cooked straight from the heart - simple, but brilliantly dressed salad, bread to die for, perfectly cooked pasta, a rich and hearty ragu, a fresh and zingy puttanesca. Wonderful food, great service and top surroundings. Lyme's high street and seafront may be what you see most of on your visit but do, please, seek out the cute little quarter that is the Millside. There's a micro brewery, an artisan cheese shop, a gallery, bakery and a few little food outlets like this where it's clear you will be well looked after and well fed at a very reasonable cost, if our visit is anything to go by.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Just a morning refreshment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We called in for morning refreshments of tea and coffee. Very simple but pleasant surroundings with friendly personal service. Quality drinks and the cakes were first class.
The café has a very interesting Italian menu and looks well worth a try in the evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Punches well above its weight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We had an excellent meal and a surprisingly good bottle of English wine. The menu gives an either or choice as in the style of Italian casa's where you eatin the family home and you get what the family produces and their favourite dishes. Choice is overrated, I'd rather eat one dish cooked well than be offered half a dozen cooked badly. This is a small intimate restaurant that plays well to its strength, local, seasonal produce from mostly organic producers cooked with assurance and style. I'm sure that we will return here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had a wonderful lunch, the chef came to talk to us and was very interesting. All the food was fabulous, and the staff were very friendly towards the children. Would love to try the supper club if we get the opportunity.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mill Cafe and Supper Club also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill Cafe and Supper Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.