We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant hotel, worth the walk up the hill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariners Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Mariners Hotel to your Saves list
Mariners Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Basel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very pleasant hotel, worth the walk up the hill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

This is not in the centre of Lyme Regis but a quarter of an hour's walk up a steep hill from the town - but it's worth it! It's an old house with a garden at the back affording a great view over the coast; we spent some time there both evenings we were there, having a drink and enjoying the view. We were initially a bit concerned about our rooms being over the road, but as long as we shut the double windows noise wasn't a problem (there wasn't much traffic during the night anyway). Breakfast was varied and plentiful; this is a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    119
    38
    13
    7
See reviews for
30
186
19
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

We visited this hotel last year, the sun was shining and the area of lyme was beautiful, situated on the edge of lyme we thought it would be a perfect bolt hole to stay and explore the town.
We were greeted with a quaint pretty builing and the reception area and bar were obviously newly refurbished and to a high standard, unfortuanlety when we were shown to our room it was a vey differnt story. The bedroom was old fashioned and the furniture and decoration looked like it had not been updated for years. the green bathroom smelt damp and mouldy and the sea view that we paid extra for was o nly achievable if we stuck our head out of the window at a very sharp right angle!! not at all comforatable!!
The breakfast we recieved was standard and cooked well and the staff were pleasant, all and all a dissapointing stay.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

I have just spent 2 nights at the Mariners Hotel in Lyme Regis with a group of girlfriends. We used it as a base to walk the Dorset Coast. The pretty, pink, hotel is found at the top of the steep High Street, with a handy car park just opposite. We were checked in by a lovely ,Scottish Lady who seemed to not only run reception, but waitress, serve behind the bar and do anything else that was required, she couldn't have been nicer.

Our twin room was nicely furnished with a smart, modern ensuite shower room. My friends also all had nice rooms, although not all had brand new ensuites. But all rooms were very clean and well decorated in a contemporary style.

The first night we ate in the restaurant and for £25 we enjoyed an excellent 3 course meal, which we all thought was fantastic value and really good quality. There is also a small bar area and attractive lounge with lovely views over the garden and the sea.

The breakfast was also of a really good standard, with plenty of choice, generous portions and very well cooked.

The second night we ate out at the Harbour Inn and this too was excellent value and lovely food.

All in all I would thouroughly recommend this hotel and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Have just returned from a 2 night break at the mariners. The hotel was easy to find with the added benefit of a free car park just across from the front of the hotel. We stayed in room no. 4 which was at the rear of the hotel with a view of the garden and side view of the sea. Having just been refurbished the room was decorated in a contemporary style, the bathroom was quite small but the fabulous shower more than made up for it. The lounge was really comfortable with excellent views , most welcoming especially after a day out.

On the Saturday evening we ate in the restaurant which we found to be of a very high standard and not over priced, breakfast was also a nice surprise as there were plenty of alternatives the the "full english".

Of couse you don't have the benefit of georgous views without the walk up the hill, but it was a good excuse to finish off the day/eveing in the bar.

The staff were very pleasant, providing information when you requested it whilst remaining professional. This was our first visit to Lyme and if we return we would be more than happy to stay at the mariners.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lyme Regis. We have just returned from a 2 night spring break. We stayed in room 9 which had window on 2 sides giving a panoramic sea view right across to Portland Bill and was very comfortable apart from the thin pillows. The food in the restaurant was excellent with a wide range of choices for meat eaters and veggies alike. All staff we encountered were friendly and efficient – the waitress was particularly so. It is a little way up the hill, but well worth it for the view and the quiet.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariners Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariners Hotel

Address: Silver Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mariners Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mariners Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mariners Hotel Lyme Regis, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariners Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.