We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant
Pound Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Lyme Regis
GreenLeadersGold level
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Will go again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Having been disappointed on many occasions going to supposedly good hotels it was a refreshing change to experience everything perfect. We had a 'Hinton' room with sea view and the view was really spectacular. It was clean and furnished more than adequately. The service in the hotel was just about the best we have experienced and the food was superb. We would certainly like to return in the future.

Room Tip: Choose sea view if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    92
    56
    28
    10
See reviews for
76
228
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We recently stayed at the Alexandra hotel for 4 nights , having booked a double sea view room and single room. When we arrived the single room had not been booked , the young gentleman on reception did his best to ease our frustrations by giving us a free coffee each and explained that no single rooms were available. So instead he explained that by young daughter could stay in the "luxury 2 bedroom cottage " for one night , at no extra charge and then be moved to a single room.

At first we were quite happy with this , as the description given of the cottage sounded excellent. But on inspection the luxury cottage is nothing more than a low rate self catering apartment. As other reviewers have described the entrance is nothing more than an internal rickety door , which you have to lock from the inside , that opens onto the crowded car park with frequent early morning deliveries . The bedrooms are dark , dingy and damp . The bedroom windows are below street level and open up onto the main road into Lyme Regis ,not ideal, especially if travelling with young children . We were appalled to find out that this apartment costs £320 per night , if you are considering booking this then I suggest you look elsewhere .

The second night my daughter was moved to a single room in the main house which was excellent. Quality of furnishings , bathroom and decor were all outstanding. Our sea view room was also excellent , all be it on the small side.

We dined at the Hotel for 2 nights and I must say praise to the chef and the restaurant staff. The food was fantastic and the staff were excellent . I think the food was amongst the finest we have ever eaten , the morning breakfast was also exquisite.

Another plus point is the amazing sea views and lawn seating area , which we frequented several times due to the sunny weather .

Unfortunately our visit was overshadowed by the very insincere apology we received from a member of the reception staff , whom lost our booking. The staff also do not seem to comprehend that the cottage is far below the standard of the main hotel and we would have appreciated an apology for the inconvenience caused .

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel ,not the cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spend a lot of time in Lyme & came to stay at the Alexandra as a special treat. We chose the best room available at the time we booked and it was fantastic. It was room 12, I think called the Gould room - with a huge bay window & loungers in the room so that you could soak up the view. We are lucky enough to be able to eat 'a la carte' occasionally but I can honestly say I have never had a better tasting meal than I've had here. The trout with caviar mash & asparagus was out of this world. The staff could not do enough for you & seem to work all the hours under the sun! If you haven't time to stay and the weather is good just order drinks on the lawn instead - it's a little oasis of calm.

Room Tip: Buy the best you can afford, we had Room 12 - a special treat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Booked into the Alexandra for a 2 night stay - looking at the web site, really looking forward to it.
However! The rooms showing on the web site were far removed from what we got - for £160 each per night we ended up with nothing more than an Ikea furnished, travel lodge style room, which was right on the road so very noisy. A loo which was so small both in width as well as height, we both bumped our head many times. This price did not even include breakfast. The door of the accommodation was straight out onto the car park and we had about 2 feet before you walked into the side of a car - car park a mess as vehicles were double and triple parked and keys had to be left with reception. The exterior was being decorated and our freshly valeted car ended up covered in white paint dust. Deliveries started early as we discovered to our cost, sack trucks dragged across cobbles are not silent!
To be fair though, the rest of the hotel was lovely and the food was really good - the sun was out and we spent most of the time in the beautiful gardens overlooking the sea and harbour - the dinning room, conservatory and sitting rooms were again great, just a real shame about our room.
It would have been borderline acceptable if it had been considerably cheaper!

Room Tip: Don't agree to being put in the cottage, it's not what you might expect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The bedroom was rather small but the bed was certainly comfortable . The bathroom was very tiny but certainly contained everything required to make your stay comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities and biscuits as an added bonus . My biggest complaint was climbing so many stairs to our room thank God someone else had to carry our luggage up and down on check out . Dinner and breakfast were adequate but certainly not exciting . The best part of the hotel was its location and the scenery all around the foreshore plus walking around the gardens just outside the hotel down to the sea .

Room Tip: Ask for downstairs rooms as you can walk outside for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed in room 25 in May the staff were very helpful and thankfully carried our suitcase to the room on the top floor. The room was nice with a king size comfortable bed. Not much room for anything else in the room. The bathroom was nice smaller bath than I am used to and the shower took some working out to get the right temperature before you got in. Food and service in the restaurant in the evening was good while breakfast was just ok. Limited choice of cereals an pastries etc and cooked breakfast was basic nothing special. Parking was available and the staff did everything they could to ensure everyone was parked this could result in boxing in . Best day out was to durdle door about an hours drive great scenery and lovely beaches.

Room Tip: Room 25 lovely view and a king size bed but awkward shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We had a lovely stay here - small but lovely bedroom. The best thing about the hotel for me is the gardens overlooking the sea, simply magical... we did not have a sea view but had a pleasant view overlooking Lyme. It is a bit of a treat to stay here and it was a little expensive - more so if you eat dinner there too. For me the evening dinner was a little bit over elaborate and formal, but again for a special event would be perfect.
Breakfast was superb. Simply a wonderful place to sit on a sunny day in Lyme if you lucky enough with the weather...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant

Address: Pound Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Dower house built in 1735 with large garden, panoramic views across Lyme Bay's Jurassic UNESCO World Heritage site coastline and the famous Cobb harbour. Pathway to beach through gardens. Treatment room and Gym. Sea view restaurant with attentive service. Delicious food using seasonal local produce. Total Seaside Chic. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Lyme Regis
Alexandra Lyme Regis
Alexandra Hotel And Restaurant Lyme Regis, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alexandra Hotel and Restaurant to your Saves list