We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple idea, great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Whole Hog

The Whole Hog
Broad Street, Lyme Regis, England
01989 770783
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 67 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Simple idea, great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

A tiny place almost set into the wall on Bridge Street. Predominantly takeaway, although there is a single table for four if you wish to eat in and are lucky enough to find it free. The menu is Henry-Ford-style simple: roast pork in traditional style served in white baps, with or without the trimmings. Good value at £3.50. Tea or coffee also available. Perfect for a lunchtime snack to eat on the terrace overlooking the sea defences, especially if you are “all whelked out” after a couple of days of takeaway seafood in plastic cartons.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    21
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Simply no better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

If you want a tasty wholesome sandwich then look no further. A simple concept very well executed.We went three times in our two weeks in Lyme.
Congratulations to the young couple running this enterprise.
Be warned! Go early - they sell out!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Brilliant find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is not a restaurant, but a tiny place down some steps on the High Street, which concentrates on doing one thing really well - selling roast pork 'sandwiches'. These are fresh large baps which they fill to bursting in front of you with freshly roasted pork cut off the joint, apple sauce, stuffing and caramelised onions. Wrapped up and ready to take away in less than 5 minutes. Absolutely delicious, very good value, we enjoyed these sitting in the gardens overlooking the bay.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nicest sandwiches I've ever had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Beautiful sandwiches made with real care and attention to detail by the couple who own the shop. My husband had pork with all the trimmings including crackling and I had the chicken with all the trimmings. They were so nice we went back the next day and the day after....and then we had to come home.
They shouldn't be missed as even my daughter loved the chicken sandwich and getting her to eat a sandwich can be work of art!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beyond Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

What a gem! Fantastic roast sandwiches with all the trimmings! Best hog roast sandwiches ever, the friendly accommodating staff even let my 5 year old vegetarian have just a plain buttered roll! Well worth a visit, totally top drawer!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Whole Hog also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to The Whole Hog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Whole Hog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.