We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a drink and some pub grub!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cobb Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cobb Arms
29 Marine Parade, Lyme Regis DT7 3JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 39 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink and some pub grub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My friends and I stopped in the Cobb Arms after trekking 30 miles from Exmouth training for a charity walk. Needless to say, by the time we got to the pub, we could barely stand up!

The decor and ambiance were lovely. The pub has a large selection of ciders, lagers and real ales and all of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.The food was brought out promptly and was tasty and great value. Good quality pub grub and large portion sizes.

Just what we needed, thanks guys!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    15
    2
    5
    4
See reviews for
17
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had a lovely meal here during a weekend stay in Lyme Regis, the pub is right next to the Cobb and has plenty of seating inside and out. the food was very nice and very good value for money, a huge plate full. the staff were pleasant and helpful. we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

A spur of the moment trip
found the cob to be excellent
rooms were well presented clean and comfortable
Food menu was excellent with lots of local produce used
Breakfast was excellent
freshly cooked with a view over the harbour
we really enjoyed our stay and will undoubtably return

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Great menu, friendly service. Dogs very welcome, our 2 year old cocker spaniel agreed with me that the mixed grill was delicious.
Teenage son said menu was full of choice for him, wants to return tomorrow, is the highest compliment that he can give.
Daughter loved the puddings menu.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Had a weekend in our favourite beautiful Lyme Regis to among other things watch the rugby that was to say the least, poor viewing! followed by an excellent curry at Lal Quilla. The Cobb Arms and staff were fab lovely welcome, lovely rooms, brilliant shower, yummy comfortable bed, slept really well. The breakfast was fantastic, great selection of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal, followed by a hearty full english and toast, and lastly, Lyme, of course as usual the sun shone and was totally wonderful, love it!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 have views of the cobb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Marina, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Second stay at The Cobb Arms. As usual, a lovely, warm welcome from John and Linda and the staff. We were delayed on our first night due to fog, but one of the female staff called to make sure we were ok, which was a nice gesture. Stayed in Room 3 this time and views are great. Very clean and tidy room, spacious, comfy bed and endless hot water (don't laugh, I have stayed in 5* hotels before where there is no hot water), welcome on a freezing cold, blustery day after a walk along the Cobb and Harbour. Slept like logs. Food in cosy bar is great, big log fire and nice atmosphere. Plenty of food choices, and many veggie options too. Well, what can I say about the breakfast! Excellent. Hubs is a full English breakfast type of guy and I am a fresh fruit, cereal and toast foodie so we were both very happy. Cobb Arms is great value for money and location cannot be beaten. We are house hunting in Lyme so will return soon and we wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else. Well done, John and Linda and all the staff, we had a fabulous stay.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 and 3 have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here early March. We were impressed with the food. The welcome was great, as always. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable. This B & B is excellent value for money and you can't get better views in our opinion.

Room Tip: Room 3 has a view of the harbour and sea and a double shower in the en suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cobb Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cobb Arms

Address: 29 Marine Parade, Lyme Regis DT7 3JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Also Known As:
Cobb Arms Lyme Regis, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cobb Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cobb Arms to your Saves list