We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like a pub should be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Standard

The Royal Standard
Lyme Regis, Lyme Regis DT7 3JF , England
0044 01297 442637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 67 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
dorset
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Just like a pub should be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Had a great pud meal there with friends, food was hearty and very tasty it's a great all year round venue.
Good value food but the only place I have ever been that charged over £4 for a pint of guinness.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    46
    23
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lunch at the seaside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I have visited the Royal Standard many times over many years. It is a typical Dorset fishermans pub, great atmosphere, good food and service. It was highly recommended by the Daily Telegraph several years ago, and deservedly so. It is right on the sea front, with a very nice sheltered outside eating area. They also have a good selection of local ales. Just the place to eat after a bracing walk along the lovely Dorset coast!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Dog friendly and nice outside area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We ate here on a Saturday lunchtime. We were lucky enough to be able to sit outside as it was a gorgeous day. We had to jump on someone's table just as they were leaving as it is very popular but the staff cleared it quickly for us.

We had fish and chips and mackerel and they were both lovely. Generous portions and very good quality. The man on the next table to us was having a ploughmans and it looked fabulous.

Staff were very friendly and efficient. Menu varied and reasonably priced.

Would recommend and would return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Dog friendly pub, great outdoor area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We ate here twice for lunch and found the standard the staff friendly and the food good and well priced. Our dog also was welcome where dog water bowls were provided. Recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good honest pub grub, reasonably priced and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Good pub food with plenty of choice including some nice seafood options. We sat first outside having a couple of drinks then decided to move indoors for food as it was getting a bit cold. When we first went inside it was quiet as it was still quite early but soon filled up. Service was quick and unfussy which is what I want in a pub restaurant. The menu is varied in terms of type as well as price range so something to suit all tastes and wallets!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Standard also viewed

 

Been to The Royal Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Standard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.