We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly local.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Volunteer Inn

The Volunteer Inn
31 Broad Street | Lyme Regis, Lyme Regis DT7 3QE, England
+44 1297 442214
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 67 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Volunteer Inn is a family-run, seventeenth century pub located in the heart of Lyme Regis in Dorset. One of the only remaining pubs on the high street, The Volunteer sells a range of local ales and ciders and has been a regular in the Good Beer Guide and a CAMRA member for over a decade. Although famous for it's ales, the Volunteer now also serves excellent food offering a daily changing menu.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Friendly local.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Busy on both the evenings we popped in friendly locals catching up with each other. Staff and drinks selection very good. Although clearly we were just visitors we were made very welcome and made to feel that our custom was appreciated.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    46
    4
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great pub - we were in the restaurant and it was difficult to choose which main meal to have - great selection, I had the Crab tagliatelle and my husband the Seafood Chowder - it was great and the Treacle tart afterwards was lovely - definitely recommend - staff very welcoming.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Tiny pub Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Visited Lyme Regis for a quick break. Weather was awful and dropped in here as it was close to our B AND B . What a great find. None of your usual fat laden fried food, Great scallops in a tomato beurre blanc, wonderful seafood chowder and wonder ales and ciders. . On the main street make sure you visit this place . They have a new chef who has a passion for food and it shows.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Good local”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Always go here for a drink when we are in Lyme. Although it's in the Main Street it seems to be missed by most tourists particularly later at night. It's small and cosy and can get crowded which adds to it's atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A good inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The food was very fresh, very well cooked and presented and the staff very attentive. The bar itself was very friendly and lively.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Volunteer Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Volunteer Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Volunteer Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.