We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Cinema

Regent Cinema
Broad Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3JB, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 22 things to do in Lyme Regis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

What a fantastic cinema! Very art-deco with a lovely framed screen and a wonderful little coffee lounge upstairs.

The staff were very friendly and welcoming. We also had our young son with us but the staff allowed us in with no more than a very gentle request to bring him out if he got upset. Happy to report the Regents staff do them proud!

The film quality was above par and the sound was sharp and clear. the seats are reasonable downstairs but look nicer upstairs and I think they have coffee tables between them in the circle.

There are stairs to the stalls as well as the circle but I did notice a wheelchair lift.

The price of admission is extremely good. Very good value for money.

We will definitely visit there again!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    16
    1
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Child Unfriendly”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

Visited at 2pm on a weekday to see a Disney film but refused entry as my son is only 11 months. Staff very rude. I have never experienced this at other cinemas and of course would take my son out of the cinema if he started crying.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Charm worth preserving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is an old fashioned cinema of the type I remember in the 60's and in these days of the multi screen it is charming to visit and have a genuine slice of history.
I know the owners have to make a living and, so far, they have balanced the vintage with the need to import some modern elements to improve revenue - but it is s narrow line to walk. I wish this lovely little cinema well and suggest you visit it before the 21st century takes over.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“A jewel in the crown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a real find. A privately owned cinema - Lyme is the smallest town in England, with its own cinema, we are told - which is looked after with tender loving care. A small fortune has been poured in to the place, with new seats, wide aisles, lots of leg room (I am 6ft 1 inch tall and could stretch my legs directly in front), coffee bar and all round restoration which respects the (approx) 1930 atmosphere. Most important, there's a brand new screen, which covers 3D, and fantastic sound, so there's never a feeling that you are sitting in a small-time cinema in a small seaside down. Staff seem as if they are happy to be there, taking part in what must be a little success story. I also note that there is a season of Silver Screen films, aimed at older audience, from October each week to run through the winter: £3.75p, including coffee, for the pensioners. The cinema is clearly aware that a generation in their sixties and seventies used to go the cinema every week in the 1960's. The fact that there's such a decent place to attend which appreciates the audience is a good sign. Like all cinemas, The Regent needs to make money, so films like The Dark Knight Rises and Brave dominate the August programme. Result: plenty seats taken and a busy atmosphere. Capacity around 300, I would think. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charmouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A real asset to Lyme Regis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

A wonderful art deco cinema in the middle of town with comfortable seating (especially in the posh seats upstairs!) and great sound which has been improved immeasurably of late. A real pleasure to visit. So much nicer than being treated like cattle in an Odeus Multiplex

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Regent Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Regent Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Cinema, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.