We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jane Austen Tour April 13th” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Literary Lyme Walking Tours

Literary Lyme Walking Tours
46 Church Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3DA, England
+44 (0) 7763974569
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 Activities in Lyme Regis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided walking tours in and around Devon and Dorset. Walks available include Jane Austen (standard/extended), The French Lieutenant's Woman (standard/extended), Mary Anning the Fossil Hunter and Architecture of the Undercliff, part of a National Nature Reserve.Jane AustenJane Austen visited Lyme on at least two separate occasions and set Persuasion, her last novel, in the town. On the tour we follow in the footsteps of Austen and her characters. See the steps from which Louisa Musgrove fell on the famous Cobb Harbour and visit the inns mentioned in Persuasion. Tours run all year round. We have scheduled walks detailed below or you can contact us to arrange another time.Jane Austen Tours:April-JulySaturdays at 11.30amAugust & SeptemberWednesdays, 7pm & Sundays 1pmMeet by the Metal Anchor at the bottom of the main street in Lyme Regis.£7Mary Anning ToursEvery Saturday at 1.30pmMeet at Lyme Regis Museum (and book with them)£6Smugglers Lyme ToursMonday 7pm July & AugMeet by the Metal Anchor at the bottom of the main street in Lyme Regis.£6French Lieutenant's Woman ToursSunday 22nd and 29th Sept 3pmSunday 17th November mid dayMeet by the Regent Cinema£20Maritime History Tour31/03/2013 Sunday 1.30pm28/04/2013 Sunday 1.30pm26/05/2013 Sunday 1.30pm30/06/2013 Sunday 1.30pm28/07/2013 Sunday 1.30pm31/08/2013 Saturday 3.30pm28/09/2013 Saturday 3.30pmMeet at Lyme Regis Museum (and book with them)£6Architecture of the Undercliff21/04/201316/06/201327/09/2013£20
Verwood, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Jane Austen Tour April 13th”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Despite rather wild and wet weather, Natalie led us on a fascinating tour of Lyme. We are all interested in Jane Austen's novels and were familiar with her links to Lyme Regis. However, Natalie expertly filled in details and exploded a couple of myths with her knowledge of Lyme's historical as well as literary connections.

Many thanks indeed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful walks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I think we picked the coldest weekend possible to visit Lyme Regis but despite that found ourselves bundled up and walking around with Natalie from Literary Lyme. We went on the Mary Anning walk and really enjoyed it. Natalie was full of interesting tales about this fascinating woman and Lyme itself. On the Sunday Natalie organized a Jane Austen walk for us. One of our reasons for visiting Lyme was to learn more about the time Jane spent in Lyme Regis along with it how it influenced her work. Natalie did not disappoint. Her knowledge and passion were infectious. Definitely recommend a walk with Litery Lyme to anyone visiting Lyme Regis.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must do ! Mary Anning Walking Tour review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I would first like to thank Natalie, our tour guide, for accommodating our available date as we were traveling from the US. It was an amazing afternoon with a kind, informative, engaging tour guide. What I personally enjoyed most about Natalie's tour was the background support she gave to her information. If it was town "legend" she advised us, and supported the facts of Mary Anning's life with other documented events of the time. I also found it interesting how much of a part Mary's brother played in her life.
Regardless of the type of tour you choose, they are well researched and enjoyable. The town itself is breathtaking. Be sure if you plan to want to do some fossil hunting that you investigate what time high tide is and allow yourself plenty of time in the morning.

This is an excellent, professional presentation that I highly recommend!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderfully informative, a morning well spent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have visited Lyme Regis on a number of occasions over the past few years, always meaning to find out more about the locality but never actually quite getting around to it!
I booked the tour as a last minute decision but the person running the tour was extremely accommodating. It was actually one of the most enjoyable mornings I have spent in Lyme, I had no idea there was so much to see! The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable about the area and was able to answer all of my questions however random! I saw a “Banksey” mural which I never even knew was there! It certainly cheered up a miserable rainy February morning and became the highlight of my visit.
Highly recommended and excellent value for money. An experience not to be missed for anyone, old or young.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“made a very cold day warmer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We have visited Lyme Regis several times before, but Nicole, the very charming guide, told us so much we didn't know. We chose the Jane Austen tour and she brought Jane's visits to life for us - even for the two of us who were not real Jane Austen fans. The tour certainly enhanced our stay.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme_Tours, Owner at Literary Lyme Walking Tours, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
So glad you enjoyed your walk - even the two of you who weren't especially into Austen. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Literary Lyme Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Literary Lyme Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Literary Lyme Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.