We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience - went back during stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lyme Bay Kitchen and Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lyme Bay Kitchen and Bar
44- 45 Coombe street, Lyme Regis DT7 3PY, England
01297 445371
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good experience - went back during stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

... the poor reviews given by some are odd. We either hit the place on a very good week... or others were there at a very bad time. Maybe they struggle when very busy. Certainly the times we went were quiet times. But on each occasion the pasta was excellent, the pizza OK and the service friendly and efficient. Certainly above average overall.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    17
    11
    9
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great during off-peak hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My husband and I were looking for food at what is apparently an unusual time in Lyme Regis, between 4:00 and 6:00pm. It seemed that everything either stopped serving around 3:00pm and didn't start on dinner until after 6:00 or 6:30pm. The Lyme Bay Kitchen and Bar, however, was open, and we were the only customers for about an hour, which worked out incredibly well. We both had pizza, which was quite tasty, and the desserts finished everything off nicely. The Trivial Pursuit cards on the table were a fun touch that made the wait pass quickly (and I now know who Gertrude Ederle is). Overall this was a pleasant, chilled-out introduction to Lyme Regis dining.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

It was good to find an Italian menu with some slightly more unusual menu items. I chose Penne Pangrattatta which was heaven. This was my second visit and I wasn't disappointed. The kids loved the pizzas.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Appalling”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We ordered bruschetta and caesar salad and food was pretty bad. Rose wine was ok but the red was warm and boring. If you can only make pizza then stick to that. Luckily we have a nice bottle of south african red wine and some local cheese in out room at the Bay Hotel. Not coming back any time soon :(

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“give it a miss !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

only one beer on draught, peroni. yes i know it's an italian restaurant,but it would have been nice to have a choice other than, take it or leave it. i chose squid as a starter £6.75. it was hot but not very crispy. passable. then seafood pizza £10. what a let down, a few random prawns, squid and mussells. my wife chose garlic bread as a starter, again passable. she then chose spaghetti carbonara. it arrived in a huge white dish, unfortunately the dish was the only huge thing about her choice. about half a dozen forkfuls of limp, grey, sticky string lay in the bottom of the dish, with a few minute pieces of minced bacon in the bottom. with three pints of peroni, the whole evening cost £48 what a rip off. DO NOT visit this place unless you have more money than sense.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyme Bay Kitchen and Bar also viewed

Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyme Bay Kitchen and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.