We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pub food and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pilot Boat Inn Restaurant

Pilot Boat Inn Restaurant
1 Bridge Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3QA, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 65 restaurants in Lyme Regis
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Pub food and warm welcome. Food served quickly by young bright staff. good straightforward food and drink- professional service.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Excellent pub food and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Just had a meal on our last day at Lyme Regis.....what can I say.....outstanding food and service... pity we only went there once..... shall be returning next time we are here. Food was cooked to perfection.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    45
    54
    14
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“How a pub should be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Visiting as a family of 6 and arriving for an early evening meal we were seated immediately by a very welcoming barman. The menu is standard pub grub; burgers, scampi, steak and kidney pie, fish and chips etc. However, there is a daily specials board if you fancy something a little different e.g. Spinach and Feta pie) All the meals we had were very tasty and generously portioned. Service was quick and efficient and I recommend this as a place to eat for family groups who are looking for filling food at reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Anchors away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have been visiting this delightful pub for many years as it offers a perfect combination of ambiance,food and drink.

The Inn itself has a nautical theme with lots of photographs of naval activity over the decades.Well worth a browse.

There is an outside seating area, as well as two rooms, with bars in each. The staff are very friendly with a dedicated serving staff. Whilst the food is 'pub grub' it is of a uniformly good quality and there is always the 'specials' board to check out. Our only small advice would be larger portions please!

Nice people and good service with a smile.

You do need to get in early for seats but the inn serves until about 9pm in our experience.

Clean functional toilets.

Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good pub grub in central location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We ate here twice, and found the food to be of a good standard for a pub. The portions could have been bigger, considering the prices charged, but the chips were cooked to perfection, crisp on the outside and soft in the middle. Friendly attentive staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice pub, good grub.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We were too late for lunch in Lyme Regis on busy Saturday afternoon and had to leave before most places served dinner at 6pm. We were pointed in the direction of the Pilot Boat Inn which served food all day. How pleased we were to find this lovely pub, very friendly staff, nice surroundings-not a huge menu but there was also a 'special' board so something for everyone. We didn't have long to wait and when the meals came the food was piping hot. Very good value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilot Boat Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to Pilot Boat Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilot Boat Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.