We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pilot Boat Inn Restaurant

Pilot Boat Inn Restaurant
1 Bridge Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3QA, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 65 restaurants in Lyme Regis
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Pub food and warm welcome. Food served quickly by young bright staff. good straightforward food and drink- professional service.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We went to this pub the first night of our week's stay in Lyme and were so impressed that we ate there every night! There were six of us and we were all equally impressed. A wide selection of dishes including an extensive and imaginative choice of fish and vegetarian meals is available. Prices are very reasonable. Good choice of local Palmer's beers. Service really good - nothing too much trouble including accommodating requests for changes to dishes and food served very efficiently.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    45
    54
    14
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great pub food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The menu plus specials has an excellent range catering for vegetarians and vegans plus a few dishes which go above and beyond the usual pub fayre of pies, steaks fish and chips etc. That said, our favourite tends to be the classic gammon steak which is served with egg or pineapple, tomatoes, mushrooms, onion rings, choice of potatoes and side salad. It is always very tasty, piping hot and excellent value. The portions are very generous - we have never had room for dessert and rarely indulge in a starter as we know we will be struggling to eat the main course if we do and it is just too good to waste!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Typical pub fayre, warm welcome.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We found the pub very relaxed, staff are lovely and the dog was welcome.
We were encouraged by quite an imaginative menu, nice to see some unusual vegetarian options.
Unfortunately the food was pretty disappointing. Huge portion of deep fried whitebait, fish and chips and omelette were all nicely presented but left us with a rather greasy aftertaste. Maybe the deep frier needed a sort out.
If you want quatity rather than quality you would probably rate the food higher than we did.
We did enjoy the beer!
Sorry - we wouldn't go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and good beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

as a regular haunt of mine I can well recommend the Pilot Boat in Lyme Regis. You are always treated to a warm welcome and the food is honest, value for money fayre.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottery St. Mary, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“THE PUB RESTAURANT IN THE HEART OF LYME REGIS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A friendly welcome awaits you in this pub restaurant at the bottom of Broad Street, the main road in the town: better than the tourist trap pubs closer to the harbour and the sandy beach.The menu is more inventive than the average pub and the food is nicely prepared and served. There's a front bar area with a bay window, essentially set out as a restaurant: and there's a similar larger area to the rear of the bar. The beers offer a local choice and are well cared for.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilot Boat Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to Pilot Boat Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilot Boat Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.