We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dave & Jackie” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charnwood Guest House

Charnwood Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Charnwood Guest House
Save
You added Charnwood Guest House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   21 Woodmead Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 43 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
New Milton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dave & Jackie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed with Ann & Wayne in July 2012. Room 5. Superb quality of cleanliness and bed linen.Having owned and run a guest house in Southsea we appreciate the problems of giving high standards on limited income.Ann & Wayne do an amazing job.The bed was very comfortable and full English a well cooked delightful meal. We are sure to stay in the Charnwood next time we are in town as the location towards the bottom of a steep hill is convenient to town.One adverse comment. Need more flexability in breakfast times

Room Tip: Rooms to rear have great view over town and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, Owner at Charnwood Guest House, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thanks for your possitive comment.
For those that are wondering about our breakfast times,see
Below how we set it out.
Early 7 to 8 o'clock we do cereal,toast and fruit for those that need to leave before breakfast.
Walking groups etc often want a cook breakfast at 8 and we do that for them.
NormallY we then go for a cook time of 8.30 planning to be open by 8.20. People then come in from just before 8.30 to 8.50 in general. We ask for 8.30 to get in that range. If we said 9 or 9.30 we would get late arrivals and by the time an unhurried breakfast took place ,we would be at check out time.
We are not amongst the most expensive so we have to opperate on our labour in the main and if we are not organised we run out of time for our guests and ourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    9
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Rooms were kept very clean and well serviced during our 2 night stay. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice in the nice dining room. Parking was good and nice 10 minute stroll into Town.

However the rooms we had (a double and single) were too small, especially the double with an ensuite which was just big enough to turn around in. Rooms are in need of modernisation. Creaky floor above.

Price paid was £45 for the single and £80 for the double which I consider too much for the quality of the room. Overall I would not recommend and would not stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms 2 and 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W B, Owner at Charnwood Guest House, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Very sad to see this one as we had no idea there was a problem. In this case i placed the parents next to their son as i thought this would help them. If they had said someting i could have moved them to another double , which would have helped their stay and avoided the need for a comment against our business. However i acknowlege what has been said and as the customer is a priority to us , i just wish we could have realised that there was an issue.
They were in our smallest double on the side of the building. It is still very popular even though this shower room is smaller, due to the space available to us. We keep the rooms clean and well maintained and this room has a new mattress. To modernise as he says would involve knocking down major walls in a one hundred year old building and turning say six rooms into three, which would change our prices and type of business dramaticly. If the very popular single was bigger by much it would then be a double.
It is just part of a sea side break in old historic Lyme Regis to enjoy a variety of shapes in its quaint varied buildings. With a good high standard of care, but not box standard chain rooms.
We aim to keep a traditional B&B in a older building with clean modern touches. Investing in cleanlyness and a traditional breakfast, with an efficient approach on our side, but laid back for our customers to enjoy with a laugh. We have six rooms , all en suite with showers and three with sea views. One cust has just left us £10 and a note to thank us for a very clean room and lovely linen and towels. Another family staying at the same time as this review said that it was just the nicest stay.
We have many regulars from all walks of modern life who stay weeks or short stays.
So we want to stay a good value middle ground B&B. If you want cheap we cant do that, if you want very big then and grand then you can pay £100 to £200 somewhere else , but if you want a great breakfast and a comfy bed with friendly hosts, then we are there to try our very best for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We have just returned from another fantastic stay with Ann and Wayne at Charnwood. Our room was immaculate with the bonus of a sea view. Breakfast was prompt with a great choice. We love Charnwood because of the location and great parking. Ann and Wayne are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Lovely, friendly, clean as a whistle, everything you could wish for in this delightful B & B. what a welcome full cooked English Breakfast too plus cereal, fruit, toast and spreads.

Room Tip: All good rooms, choose your favourite colour!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The room was a good size, very comfortable and spotlesly clean with added extras of biscuits and complimentary shower/hair gels. Towels changed daily. Full english breakfast was great, well presented and set us up for the day.

Nice stroll alongside the river into the town/seafront. Good parking at the rear of the property.
We originally booked for 2 nights but decided to stay a third as the accommodation was so pleasant and convenient - no hassle trying to park in the town/seafront.

Wayne and Ann were very friendly and helpful. On request Ann very kindly got me some decaff tea and coffee for our room.

My only minor suggestions for improvement is that perhaps they could make the entrance hall a bit brighter and more welcoming as on entering the first time I thought it seemed a bit dowdy and cluttered.
My husband suggests that perhaps some light easy listening background music playing during breakfast would be nice. Otherwise top marks.

Would definitely stay again and recommend.

Room Tip: Our first floor room had a view towards the sea (in the distance) which was very nice. Another gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed at the Charnwood Guest House for 3 nights, in the single room. Very comfortable bed, TV with freeview, coffee and tea making facilities plus biccies in case you get peckish! En suite bathroom was compact but not cramped, plenty of room for one person. Shower didn't have the strongest flow in the world, but it was still fine. Breakfast was at 8.30am and was served nice and promptly, tea was offered immediately, and orange juice already on the table. I opted for the full English breakfast each morning, I'm vegetarian so asked for no meat, instead I got a tasty veggie sausage as a replacement, which was a yummy bonus! Along with fried bread, fried egg, mushrooms, tomatoes and plenty of toast. Felt very welcome, owners were friendly and happy to chat and give information on any events happening in the area. A very reasonably priced guest house which provided all the things you expect and need! Had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We have stayed at the charnwood twice now and will return in the future. Ann & Wayne are so welcoming & make your stay very enjoyable. The house itself is very well located & the free off-road parking is an added bonus, as you dont find much of it in Lyme. The breakfast is superb, freshly cooked and sets you up for the day. The rooms are spotless as they are cleaned every day. We have been coming to Lyme for 15 years now - my husband even longer & have stayed in numerous guest houses but this is our favourite. It is in an ideal location for anyone who may struggle to walk with just a slight incline & gives you a lovely walk along the river into the town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charnwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charnwood Guest House

Address: 21 Woodmead Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Charnwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a six bedroom bed and breakfast. Close to the sea and centre of town, 5-7 mins walk. One single, three doubles and two twins (one can be used as a triple). All en-suite with shower. Car park at rear. Three have views to sea. All rooms are light and airy. We specialise in a hearty full English breakfast or vegetarian. Plus fruit and cereals etc. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Charnwood Guest House Lyme Regis, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charnwood Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.