We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for light lunches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Millside Restaurant

The Millside Restaurant
1 Mill Lane, Lyme Regis DT7 3PU, England
01297445999
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Millside Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 65 restaurants in Lyme Regis
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Cardiff
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great place for light lunches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stopped several times here when visiting Lyme Regis for Lunch. They let you choose starters as light meals, last time, I had a great plateful of marinaded salmon and salad with lovely bread. My wife had a great soup. Staff very pleasant. Some outdoor seating in a sheltered spot in the mill yard. (Micro Brewery nearby for takeaway beer!). Clean.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    169
    53
    18
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A Thursday evening during half term, with the weather looking grim. Thought we'd go and eat at The Millside, where we'd enjoyed good meals previously. Starters were good, but the main was not. The fish (Brill) was dry and overcooked, and burnt on the skin side. Vegetables were however very well cooked. The puddings were poor. The Pear Tarte Tartin was a sloppy mess on top of an uncooked base. Only saving grace was the ice cream was excellent.

The service was good and the waitress apologetic for the slow service at times. A bit of a surprise, as I was expecting better.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is probably the nicest place to eat in Lyme! great wine, service and fresh fabulous food! We booked a table on the Saturday night and glad we did the place was Busy! What made a difference was the fact that we had our table all night so we could dine in a relaxed atmosphere (not like HIX)!! The food was freshly cooked to order as you would expect and the service was very pleasant! All in all we will be returning to this gem! Oh and the home-made bread was lovely!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We visited the Millside Restaurant this weekend when visiting Lyme Regis. It looked like a lovely little place from the outside, tucked away down one of the back streets of Lyme, so thought, why not?

We were greeted by two very welcoming ladies, one of which showed us to our table in the dining room. We were a little surprised to find that we, along with one other table, we're the only ones in there on what we thought would be a very busy Friday night.

We kicked off the evening with a beautifully chilled glass of Prosecco and were offered some of the restaurants homemade walnut bread, which was simply devine.

We commenced the evening with starters of scallops, bacon and black pudding with a cauliflower purée and the crab claws. The scallop starter was lovely, if a little small in comparison to my husbands crab claws, which was huge, but equally as lovely.

After we had consumed our starter with much gusto, we were brought our mains - neck of lamb with dauphonoise and monk fish. Again, both meals were cooked and seasoned to perfection, washed down with one of the best Chianto Classicos we've had in a while in the UK.

Finally it was pud time and although we were both quite full, we decided the dessert board to tempting to resist. One pannacotta and chocolate torte later, we were now two very full but content customers ready to head back up the hill to our humble abode.

All in all a very enjoyable experience and one we would love to replicate during our next visit to Lyme ;-))

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quality through and through.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a fantastic little place. If you are visiting Lyme Regis book in here you won't be disappointed.
The crab claws were warm and sweet and the walnut bread made in house is great!
We will return!
Cheers guys for a lovely evening

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Millside Restaurant also viewed

Lyme Regis, Dorset
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to The Millside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Millside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.