We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and very cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coombe House

Coombe House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coombe House
Save
You added Coombe House to your Saves list
41 Coombe Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3PY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 41 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly and very cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

We came across with this B&B just by chance, passing by, and were very pleased with our discovery. A large double room, with a kettle,coffee, tea and hot chocolate, TV, comfy bed, lovely bay window and amazing bathroom! We really enjoyed our stay, walked around the town, sat down on the beach before heading towards our next stop, 3 hrs away.
Didn't need to stop for a lunch, as we had the most delicious breakfast in ages! It felt like visiting Mum, home made breads, jams etc.
Would definitely recommend to my friends!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

My husband & I love Lyme Regis for an occasional night away, as it far enough away to feel as though you are having a break, but not too far to drive for us, so that you feel worn out before you get there, especially with the volume of traffic on the roads now !!
We have just returned from a night away at Coombe House, & felt that we had to share our comments here on Trip Advisor.
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, & the car parking space outside was a real bonus, especially for such a central location. The position of Coombe House is on a level walk to the town too, which in itself is brilliant for me.
We had a comfortable night in a lovely warm room, which boasted a bay window with small table & chairs, so that we could relax & enjoy a cup of tea or coffee.
Our breakfast in the morning was very enjoyable albeit a little different from the usual B&B, we thoroughly enjoyed it. Our lovely hostess Dympna served our breakfast on a trolley outside our door & it consisted of cereal, muesli, fresh fruit, boiled eggs, a lovely selection of home made bread, marmalade & jam, tea or coffe & even a toaster was provided. It meant that we could enjoy our breakfast in the comfort of our room.
We really did enjoy our short break, & hope to return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

my wife and i were lucky enough to stumble upon this very charming b&b when we were walking round lyme regis. the ensuite room was large, comfortable, and simply and elegantly decorated. the owners welcomed us very warmly (even though we showed up without any reservation at about 7pm), and gave us helpful suggestions on places to eat and visit in the area. they are very close to the mill area: a courtyard with galleries, artisan brewery, and a restaurant that is meant to be amazing (sadly they were on holiday when we were in town).
breakfast was delicious, home-made jams, boiled eggs, muesli etc etc.
everything was simple, tasteful, and relaxed, just what we were looking for.
we'd definitely go again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We spent a lovely weekend recently at Coombe House. Dympna is very welcoming and provided a delicious breakfast each morning when we sampled various home-made breads . Very comfortable b&b - looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Location superb - on the level just a few minutes from the beach
Host - Dympna was so friendly and made us feel at home as soon as we walked through her door.
Breakfast - fresh, wholesome and delicious (I was given the recipe for her bread and it is superb)
We felt very relaxed sitting in our bay window watching the world go by and the people struggling up the hills to their destinations while our was on the flat - oh so good!
Parking was excellent and secure
Cant fault our holiday - hopefully we will be back for some more

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed for a weekend with my mum at Coombe House and was really impressed. Great location, very close to the sea, great quirky shops and restaurants.

The twin room we stayed in exceeded our expectations, lovely decor, very comfortable, and a feature window to sit in and watch the world go by. And the breakfast .... it was a feast!

Dympna, the owner was a great host and made you feel at home instantly. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

This flat couldnt be more perfect for our needs. It's clean, spacious, with lots of light and air with an amiable hostess with Dympna. Location wise it's about a 2 minute walk to the seafront and very near to some attractions like the Lyme Regis museum, theatre, local mill, cheesemongers, & also near the best fish & chips place, local cafe's and souvies shops. It's a bit hilly if you want to go the main high street to get to the Co-op or Tesco but hey it's not that much of a stretch.

Will absolutely use this accommodation again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coombe House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe House

Address: 41 Coombe Street, Lyme Regis DT7 3PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Coombe House Hotel Lyme Regis
Coombe House Lyme Regis, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coombe House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.