We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dorset House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dorset House to your Saves list
Dorset House
Pound Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3HX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #2 of 41 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A real gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Great welcome from great hosts. Superbly clean and a lovely breakfast from a wide choice. Although small, the shower room was perfectly adequate and the shower one of the best we have come across in a long time. We will happily return!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
85
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our stay was unfortunately not long enough, but given our hectic schedule we found that Dorset House made us feel relaxed and refreshed in no time.
The modern bathroom and bedroom decor was of high standard with excellent amenities.
The breakfast was cooked perfectly and was filling, with an added touch of home made bread cooked to order.
Our only negative was the lack of parking facilities within the grounds of the accommodation.
We're really looking forward to returning to Dorset House on our next visit to Lyme Regis.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for only one night in the family room with our 11yr boy. Room was immaculate. Very clean and beautifully renovated. The service was second to none. As was the breakfast. Very very impressed.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey (all out!)
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This review is a bit late as my sister in law and I stayed at Dorset House on July 2014. I would definitely stay there again in a flash again. My sister in law had an all day gardening course on the Saturday at River Cottage and then on the Sunday we had lunch booked at River Cottage
On arrival we were greeted by the owners and offered a hot or cold drink. The room we had, had a king size bed and a sofabed nice decor. The most amazing part of our room was the bathroom I have never had so many showers in a weekend! The shower was out of this world! Brand new shower with massaging function and allsorts! Underfloor heating in the bathroom was bliss. Plus use of REN products a nice touch. There was tea and coffee plus biscuits in the roomplus free wifi You could pre order te and coffee for your morning wake up. Breakfast were delicious we loved the home made fruit salad, homemade granola and the cooked breakfasts with locally sourced ingredients. The couple that own the B&B are helpful and very hospitable. They have a good eye for detail and keep their B&B very clean whilst raising their family. My onlymin grumble is that there is no parking and you have to park in a local council car park (reasonably priced mind you) if you are staying in Lyme Regis stay here you get what you pay for! Quality! PS my sister in law was also impressed with the shower she is currently having one installed in her house.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a wonderful time at Dorset House. It is a fantastic boutique hotel and really convenient for exploring the surrounding area. The owner are very helpful and recommended us some good walks - even provided us with maps. They do a great breakfast too - espcially the pancakes!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were looking for a weekend break away from London but something different from the lovely, but predictable Cotswold. 2 hours 50 minutes from London we decided on Lyme Regis and what a great decision that turned out to be. On the stunning Jurassic Coast, so much to do even in late November. We walked the coast, looked for fossils, cheered on the Christmas parade and sat on the beach drinking coffee watching the world go by, ate ourselves stupid and got merry. The restaurants/bars are top banana, all budgets and a huge variety.
But where to stay? - the only choice for me from now on is Dorset House, a high end boutique B&B run by Jason and Lyn who have painstakingly converted a Georgian period property to 21st century standards yet keeping the charm of the original. Nice touches like under floor heating in the bathroom, a top notch honesty bar, super comfy beds, fluffy bathrobes and girlie soap ( it makes a difference!). It's worth staying just for the breakfast - everything about the place is a delight.

Green Features: They have a provenance policy, offering only eco friendly and sustainable items - all food is local.
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely b&b great family hosts
super decor, georgeous views, breakfast menu has a great range, quick walk into town or down to the Cob. Feels like a boutique hotel but unassuming and comfortable. Book a bigger room for larger bed size if you are 6"3 and over !

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dorset House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorset House

Address: Pound Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated B&B with boutique facilities and local home cooked breakfast. Warm welcome - complimentary wifi - sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dorset House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorset House Lyme Regis

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dorset House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.