We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stands out from the crowd” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manaton Guest House

Manaton Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lyme Regis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manaton Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Hill Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3PE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 39 Lyme Regis B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“stands out from the crowd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Our family stayed here recently for a number of nights and enjoyed our visit.
It has the highest standard of cleanliness and service that we have come across.
The owners do go that little bit extra to help you out.
highest marks earned.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jt01LymeRegis, Owner at Manaton Guest House, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Many thank we hope to see you again very soon. Regards
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Had a very nice time in lymeregis.we stayed 3 nights at the manaton.our room was a small one but we did know this befor booking.we was happy to stay there would of stayed longer if we had the time off work.the room was very clean as was the hole place. had all you need for any lenth of stay loo shower sink towels tea/coffee facilites and cupboard space was plenty tv hairdryer shampoo shower gel and hand gel.bed was comfy too.there was plenty for breakfast and lovely cooked.they don't do dinner but it smelt great to.john and glenda are very nice friendly people the service was great.we would stay there again.not all there rooms are small ones just ours as the rest was taken on booking.so thankyou john and glenda for a nice stay and all your info on and around lyme.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jt01LymeRegis, Owner at Manaton Guest House, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thanks very much we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes John & Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

recently stayed when the weather was terrible. luckily we were warm cosy and very well looked after by Glenda and John, our rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely as was the room we ate in and we got plenty of advice about local things. Would definitely stay here again which I think is the best recommendation anyone can give.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Manaton for 2 nights and we were very happy with our stay. We were made to feel very welcome by the hosts, who were so friendly and gave us loads of advice on where to eat and visit whilst in Lyme Regis. Our room was very nice, clean, a good size, tastefully decorated and modern with a very comfy bed. We thought the breakfast was great, and the B&B is in a great location for all the nearby attractions. We would certainly recommend the Manaton to others and would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jt01LymeRegis, Owner at Manaton Guest House, responded to this review, May 15, 2012
Thank you Charlotte for you kind comments we hope that you & Chris had a safe trip home. L>ook forward to seeing you again in the future. John & Glenda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

My husband, myself and our 13 year old son had a 3 night stay at Manaton just before the Easter weekend and we were very happy with everything. John and Glenda are very welcoming, friendly and helpful and made our stay very enjoyable. We stayed in the family room which was very comfortable, the beds were lovely and great pillows! (some places just don't get the pillows right!) and despite what other guests have said - there is definately a sea view! (see photo) Our private bathroom was lovely and everything is lovely and clean. Breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice. The house is situated only minutes from shops and restaurants (and pubs!) and of course the sea. Yes, it's on a hill but it really isn't a problem and we appreciated having somewhere to park. We throughly recommend Manaton and if we return to Lyme Regis in the future (for more fossil hunting!) will definately stay there again. Thank you John and Glenda for a lovely stay. John, Jan & Charlie Bell.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jt01LymeRegis, Owner at Manaton Guest House, responded to this review, April 13, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments hope to see you all again soon. Regrds
John & Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

I've always stayed in hotels but decided to travel late so the only option was a B&B. Stayed here recently and was really impressed. Close to everything, super clean everywhere, OK size rooms, great breakfast and lot of friendly extra local touches of the 'money can't buy' variety. Friendly owners who can't do enough for you. I have no hesitation in reccomending this to anyone.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jt01LymeRegis, Owner at Manaton Guest House, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future. Best wishes John & Glen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We had a two night break at Manaton and we had a lovely time. The room was very comfortable as was the bed, with lovely bed linen. The decor was to a very high standard and lots of little extras that made it homely. The hosts were great, giving lots of useful advice on places to eat, how to get to places. Excellent breakfast served by a happy cheerful John....Thanks. Would stay there again and would recommend it. Mrs Rudge Sutton Coldfield.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Manaton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manaton Guest House

Address: Hill Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3PE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Lyme Regis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Lyme Regis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Manaton Guest House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MANATON, Lyme Regis is a very friendly family run guest house situated in the heart of the Jurassic coast (now a designated World Heritage Site, come and find your own fossils). All the towns’ attractions are within walking distance. Freshly cooked 3 course breakfast served every day. Private parking. Sea views from most rooms. Book early this is a very busy guest house in a very popular town where accommodation is at a premium. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Manaton Guest House Lyme Regis, Dorset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manaton Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Manaton Guest House to your Saves list