We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hix Oyster & Fish House

Hix Oyster & Fish House
Cobb Road, Lyme Regis DT7 3JP, England
+44 1297 446910
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hix Oyster & Fish House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 67 Restaurants in Lyme Regis
Price range: $61 - $91
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Hix Oyster & Fish House overlooks the harbour in Lyme Regis and boasts the most stunning panoramic views across the Jurassic coast - this is easily one of the most picturesque spots to enjoy fresh British fish seafood. The Fish House is an informal, light and airy dining room with simple white wooden tables and chairs. Here the focus is on sourcing and serving the best produce we can find and doing as little to it as possible so that you enjoy the real flavour of great British ingredients. HIX Oyster and Fish House supports sustainable fishing.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We managed to get a last minute reservation over the bank holiday weekend as they had a cancellation. I had the fried rock oysters to start with and the grilled Torbay lemon sole with hollandaise sauce. I enjoyed the lemon sole very much as it was really fresh and tasted so delicious on its own without the hollandaise sauce.
The staff was very efficient and friendly and the restaurant was very cosy.
Have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant and I will definitely go again if I am staying over in Lyme Regis.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    276
    181
    136
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Stunning views, friendly service, fabulous food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This little restaurant is perched on the side of a cliff and has stunning views across Lyme Regis & of the sea. The service was efficient and friendly and the food was delicious (I'd recommend the sea bass - perfectly cooked). A word of warning - book early - we booked a week ahead but had to eat at 5.30 to get a table (was a bank holiday though, so really down to our poor planning).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
follyfootfarm
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful views in small and exquisitely formed restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We visited this restaurant in August with teenagers and elderly parent - we had booked some time in advance, as soon as we knew we were holidaying in the area.
First impressions were it was much smaller than I had expected (the outdoor terrace was little more than a shelf), and tables were quite close together. But the views (sadly we were not right next to a window) were stunning as the restaurant is high up over the Cobb.
Wait staff were friendly and v pretty (boys as well as girls) and everyone in the place seemd to be having a good time.
Food was v English and quite unusual with foraged ingredients and unusual combinations, but suited everyone, including v picky teenage boy (usually burgers only) who enjoyed the fish fingers. The oysters were (as they should be) wonderful and there were some fun cocktails.
Bill was as expected pricy, but we all thoroughly enjoyed our evening would not hesitate to visit again or to recommend to anyone staying in Lyme Regis.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“As good as it gets in Lyme Regis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Overall our second visit to Hix didn't disappoint. The staff were casual and friendly and we had a window table to enjoy the view. Unfortunately the restaurant was unbelievably warm and a temporary air conditioning unit was placed by the side of our table with the exhaust pipe blowing hot air through our window which meant we were hotter still. The food was excellent, with Marinated Manx Queenie Scallops to share as a starter and mackerel and sea bass to follow, which were both cooked to perfection and washed down with a carafe of excellent, if not slightly expensive, Gavi. We enjoyed the atmosphere and the meal, but didn't stay for dessert as we would have melted before the ice cream did. Still the best restaurant in Lyme Regis, with the best view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

A return trip to a favourite fish restaurant however the service was atrocious! The food lived up to usual high standard but was ruined by appalling service as it did not all arrive when it should have.

Our main course arrived minus sauces and a side dishes, no one even noticed and we had to ask for them. The main course was cleared away by a waiter in a hurry who dropped dishes and food on the table and floor. He then left only to return later with coffee! After a long wait a different waitress tried to take dessert orders but we asked for the table mess to be cleared first, she responded she would clear the mess after she had taken the order. We requested the mess be cleared first. Her displeasure was obvious but we felt our request was not unreasonable. We duly ordered dessert and coffee (ordered at the same time). The coffee arrived immediately, which we felt was rather strange, as normally this follows dessert or one is asked if you want coffee with dessert. 35 minutes later we asked what had happened to our desserts only to be told 'I will check'. It seems our order dropped to the floor and no one was aware we were waiting for dessert. We decided at this point to skip our dessert and leave. A gentlemen we assumed was the manager did appear, who was apologetic but proceeded to tell us of his problems with the credit card machine. He did say he has removed the cost of the coffee from the bill. When we pointed out it was not just the problem with the desserts but lack of sauces and side dishes with the main course he also removed one starter and the chips form the bill! We noted the service charge remained on the bill. WHY? Needless to say we will not be returning in a hurry.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hix Oyster & Fish House also viewed

 
Lyme Regis, Dorset
 

Been to Hix Oyster & Fish House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hix Oyster & Fish House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.