We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moorland Garden Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moorland Garden Hotel

Save Saved
You added Moorland Garden Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moorland Garden Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sensational Summer £99
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Yelverton
United Kingdom
1 review
“Moorland Garden Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Absolutely fantastic stay. Met up with friends and had a very good dinner + long excellent breakfast on the terrace. The staff cannot be praised highly enough - from the first phone call to enquire, book and the actual stay. Very helpful and polite with nothing being too much trouble. We felt so welcome and comfortable. We had our spaniel with us and had a room overlooking the garden with dog beds and bowls supplied. As soon as we sat down for a drink after arriving in the afternoon, the staff brought out water for the dog without being asked. At dinner the staff even brought out a tin with dog biscuits. Salomon the dog says: What service.....thank you so much "wag wag". We had not travelled far and it was a perfect short break to "recharge the batteries". The room was large, clean and comfortable. We have nothing to complain about and can recommend Moorland Garden Hotel to anybody. I was surprised to find a hotel with such wonderful service. Well done and a big "thank you" to all the staff. Don't be surprised if you see us again at Moorland Garden Hotel one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Nilla W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recharge break recently. It is good news to see how well my team were able to look after all three of you on your brief stay, the doggy treats and beds are always well received.

I hope we will be able to see you again soon.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    53
    20
    12
    4
See reviews for
57
82
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
southernengland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Situated on the edge of Dartmoor with stunning grounds this hotel offered great value and was perfectly located for great walks or exploring nearby Tavistock. We went on a deal from Travelzoo and paid the extra £20 for a balcony room. The views were amazing. The deal included a good two course evening meal and breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was modern, clean and tidy. The offer is available until the beginning of October, so we have booked to go back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear garlic1927

Very many thanks for your kind review following your stay with us earlier this month. I was very pleased to see that we looked after you so well and that you're coming back.

Look forward to seeing you later in the summer.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Found a deal through Travelzoo and booked it for Saturday 6 July. Perfect setting for an anniversary weekend. Fantastic room and deilcious evening meal. Full English Sunday breakfast icing on the cake. All the staff were professional and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Esther G

Thank you very much for your kind review after your anniversary break at the week end. I am pleased you were able to take advantage of our offer through TravelZoo and found it a good experience.

Do come and see us again!

Regards,


Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunbury-on-Thames
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Have stayed here before and like the location, size of the rooms, and their views. Under new management the general decor has improved and the bar especially is brighter and more cheerful.
The food is new cuisine, so not many vegetables and not too filling if you have been walking the moors. The menu is also rather limited and did not change in six days. One criticism brought no response from the kitchen.
The breakfasts are well cooked and the starters table adequate

Room Tip: i think all rooms face the pleasant lawns and views. there are 3 categories we had a "superior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Wingwalk18

Thank you for your kind and constructive review following your stay with us last month. I am pleased that you have ben able to return and that you are pleased witht he improvements we have made to the property.

Thank you for the feedback on the dinner menu, I will be working with the team to make sure we act on our guests' observations and do what we can to help. The system should work that there are regular changes to the menu choices.

I do hope we will be able to look after you again in the future - do keep an eye on our website for our special offers!

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

On 7th July we had a Diamond wedding celebration for my husband's parents here. All the way through the arrangements, and frequent visits for lunch in the bar which is lovely and excellent value, we have been treated in a friendly and highly professional manner.

And the actual event did not disappoint. We were blessed with a heaven sent day with glorious weather so on arrival all the patio doors were open so guests could sit on the trace and the little ones could run and play on the lovely lawn.

The service was first class - out event manager for the day, Chris, was attentive, paid attention to detail and checked each step to ensure all went to plan. The buffet was lovely - more than enough food and the selection was very tasty, catering well for all including our vegetarian contingent. We provided our own specially made cake for dessert and this was carefully cut and presented.

A couple of small suggestions - the 3 steps down to the room from the entry could do with some improvement as they are tricky if you aren't too mobile or wearing high heels. My husband managed to catch his shoe on the metal edge strip and rip his shoe off, straining his ankle in the process. Also there were no forks or spoons provided for the cake.

However these were insignificant in the overall scheme of things. A wonderful day was had and we would like to thank Andrew, who checked personally all was in order, Laura who arranged everything and especially Chris whose personality and professionalism made the whole event even more pleasing than anticipated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear HolidayGorillaz,

Thank you your your very kind review after your visit to the hotel for your in-laws Diamond Wedding anniversary. I was most pleased to read how well the team did for you, both in the lead up to the event and on the day itself.

I will pass on your thanks to all concerned, the team will very much appreciate the praise. Thank you, too, for the observations regarding the cake forks and the stairs, we will make sure we have these available for cakes like this in the future, the stairs I will investigate with my maintenance team this week.

Thank you again and I am glad yo all had such a good time.

Regards

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We got a great deal from Travelzoo and as we were going to Plymouth the next day decided to make a weekend of it and travel down on Saturday. Upgraded to a balcony room with great views across the lawns and countryside in the instance. Excellent evening meal, all round very nice stay. It might be a bit noisier if there was a wedding booked as our room was above the ballroom but it was perfectly peaceful for our stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Kevin S,

Many thanks for your kind review after your stay last week end. I was very pleased to see you were able to make the most of our offer and the great weather!

Do keep in touch with us and I hope we'll be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards,

Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I found this hotel via a web search, and as it looked attractive, booked for two nights; it was perfect.

I have spent 40 years travelling for business and pleasure and rarely does such serene comfort and tranquility combine with great food to appear in one place.

The room, a junior suite, was large, comfortable, and overlooked both the formal and the country gardens.

The breakfast menu covered all tastes but it is to the evening dining where the gold rosette is truly earned. Chef, Bruce Cole, has managed to present an exquisite range of options that deliver a visual delight combined with sensational taste, using predominantly locally sourced ingredients. I rarely eat three courses, but because the first two were so good, I made an exception; I wasn't disappointed. This experience was repeated on the second night. My only regret is that I couldn't stay long enough to try everything on the menu.

The staff were a delight, the bill on departure, reasonable.

I have one suggestion for management; please arrange for seating/benches to be available in the gardens; on pleasant days it would make staying in and around the hotel so much more relaxing.

I hope and pray that I have the opportunity to return.

Brian Arnott

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorland_GM, General Manager at Moorland Garden Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear arnottb,

Thank you for your very kind review, I am really pleased we were able to combine all the elements for a relaxing business stay. We know how important it is to be individual and distinctive for both the leisure and corporate markets and I'm delighted to see how well we managed to do this for you.

I will pass on your comments to all of the team and especially to Bruce and his team in the kitchen. Appreciation like yours is very well received.

We have been lookng at providing some garden benches - I will look more closely at this now and hopefully have some here for when you next come!

Thank you once again and hope to see you again soon.

Regards


Andrew Jenkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Moorland Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moorland Garden Hotel

Address: Yelverton | Plymouth, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DA, England (Formerly Moorland Links Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Moorland Garden Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just a few minutes from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to the border with Cornwall. A friendly welcome awaits you at this country hotel set in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden.Recently refurbished, now boasting four luxurious and modern suites, comfortable bedrooms with garden views, and family and dog friendly accommodation. The Wildflower Restaurant and Dartmoor Bar offer deliciously seasonal menus using locally sourced ingredients. Devon Cream Teas are served in the Lounge or al fresco on the terrace. Complimentary car parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.The beautiful Crystal Room with its twelve chandeliers and ornate mirrors, and the four state of the art meeting spaces offer events for up to 160 guests.This is The place to be for dining leisure, business, weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Moorland Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorland Garden Hotel Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moorland Garden Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.