We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little gem on the edge of Dartmoor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Dairy

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yelverton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Dairy
Save
You added The Old Dairy to your Saves list
Yelverton, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Yelverton B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely little gem on the edge of Dartmoor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

We came across this by chance when booking to attend a friend's party. Rooms are finished to a high standard, clean and very comfortable. The homemade biscuits and choice of drinks is excellent. We would certainly recommend it and hope to return to enjoy the surrounding countryside sometime soon.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
39
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

Second visits are always tricky, as expectations are high, but we should not have worried. The location had added a few more of the "attention to detail" items that make it so good. For example, there is now a little Visitor's Book in each room, and it is clear from reading the comments that other guests have enjoyed this B&B as much as us.
The beds were as comfortable as we remembered, and the hosts just as welcoming. Be careful if you help yourself to the home-made chocolate biscuit ... one piece is simply not enough.
On this visit, we were accompanied by my father-in-law, who is 91 and has Dementia. Christine and Jerry made him most welcome, understood that he needed time and occasional repetition, and were very helpful.
Simply excellent!

Room Tip: There are two main rooms, and Room 1 has the marginally larger en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Owner at The Old Dairy, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Thank you for another lovely review. It was lovely having you to stay again and we are so pleased it lived up to your expectations. We sincerely hope we will continue to meet and indeed exceed guest's expectations. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

What an excellent find at short notice. We needed somewhere in and around Dartmoor for a couple of nights and were fortunate enough to find the Old Dairy. Two of us occupied the double and the other two the twin. Rooms are an excellent size and well furnished/decorated. the beds were very comfy and , very importantly , it was very quiet at night . Little touches like the home made biscuits, proper coffee and fresh milk every day do make a difference. Breakfasts were good and cooked to order. On our second day we ordered in advance as one of us had train to catch but this was no problem.
It was an excellent base for exploring Dartmoor.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Owner at The Old Dairy, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Thank you so much for posting the review. We are very pleased that you were all comfortable and liked your rooms and that you found it quiet at night. We do hope to see you again at The Old Dairy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed here over the August Bank Holiday weekend as we had a wedding to go to in the area. We were really impressed - beautifully decorated, stylish bedroom (no chintz!) with little touches like chocolates, home made biscuits and interiors magazines to flick through and a super comfy bed. Breakfast was really good and Christine was lovely and able to give us some good pub and restaurant recommendations, nothing was too much trouble. When I accidentally left my iphone charger in the room after we left, Christine immediately posted it back to our house. I honestly have nothing negative to say about our experience at this B&B and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Owner at The Old Dairy, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Thank you for your positive review. We are glad you liked the room and enjoyed the homemade chocolate biscuits and magazines in the room . We hope to see you again at The Old Dairy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Stayed here as a stop over on the way to Cornwall. And very glad we did! The room was absolutely lovely. We felt like we were staying in a room featured in 'Home and Garden'! Very tasteful and lovingly put together. The bed was very comfortable with quality linen and pillows. Breakfast was delicious and the hosts very friendly and welcoming. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Owner at The Old Dairy, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Thank you for such a positive review. We are so glad you liked your room and were comfortable - it is very important to us that our guests feel that they have had a good experience. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We had a lovely stay here on our way to Cornwall. The home made chocolate biscuits and well stocked hospitality tray were very welcome after our long drive. Our hosts were very helpful offering storage for bikes and surf boards. The room was light and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with a nice vegetarian option as well. Thanks for a great start to our holiday.
Jane and Paul M
There is also a pub within walking distance where we enjoyed a very reasonable evening meal.

Room Tip: super king bed was wonderful and had a lovely powerful shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Owner at The Old Dairy, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Thank you for posting the review and for your very kind comments. We are glad you found the bed comfortable - it is such an important part of a stay .We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We travelled through the south of GB and had a new bed rather every night. Only the Old Dairy with its top atmosphere, its rooms furnished with great love in every detail, its very kind hosts and its delicious breakfast made us enthusiastic to stay a lot longer. Thank you Christine and Jerry.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine D, Owner at The Old Dairy, responded to this review, September 14, 2014
Thank you very much for the lovely review. It is lovely to read that you wanted to stay longer. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Dairy

Address: Yelverton, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Yelverton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Yelverton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary and boutique Bed & Breakfast in the centre of Yelverton, an old spa village on the edge of Dartmoor National Park near Plymouth and Tavistock and Princetown. 2 Minutes walk from places to eat. Each room is spacious and en-suite with either a large shower or bath/shower combined. Within the rooms there are seating areas, large mirror wardrobes, king, super king or twin pocket sprung beds made up with white Egyptian cotton and duck feather & down duvets & pillows. If you are allergic to feathers we are happy to supply hypoallergenic bedding. Additionally there are dressing gowns, white fluffy towels, Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries, large flat screen TV, radio/mp3 docking station and a hospitality tray with fresh milk,homemade biscuits , cafetiere coffee , teas , hot chocolate and Devonia spring water . Breakfast is supplied from award winning local produce and made in any combination to suit individual tastes and includes traditional English Breakfast, vegetarian and a selection of healthy options such as organic natural yoghurt and fresh fruit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Dairy Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Dairy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.