We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal in a nice setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Rock Inn

The Rock Inn
Yelverton, Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park PL20 6BS, England
01822 852022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in Yelverton
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: British, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: This popular pub has been owned by the same family since the 1880.s.We still offer a great range of local, high quality ales, Westcountry ciders and a varied wine list. Our Chef uses really local produce for her very tasty menu, come and try some of our pies, curries, Sunday roasts or just a Cream Tea. We look forward to seeing you soon!
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in a nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Enjoyed a very good meal in the restaurant. The service was first class and the meal selected from a varied menu was very enjoyable. The service was impeccable and the bill was reasonable. There are two seperate eating areas inside and both looked to be busy and atmospheric. If the wather is nice then eating in the outside area is a good option. There is a good mix of holiday makers and locals and if looking to eat at the weekend it would pay to book ahead to guarantee a table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    67
    33
    24
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ennetbuergen, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

good atmosphere inexpensive food parking was a bit difficult with the lunch time rush. good menu choices too

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We sat in the Farmers Bar (dogs welcome) and ordered a meal. The portion size was good and both meals were reasonably priced - steak and lamb both cooked beautifully.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD AND REASONABLY PRICED”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were staying over the road at the Rosemont - who do not do an evening meal but who recommended the Rock - we are delighted they did the food was excellent the service impeccable and the bill a very pleasant surprise.

Decided to sit outside for our coffee (much to the delight of the staff - as they had people queueing for a seat - and even whilst out there the staff were happy to come out and ensure that everything was to our satisfaction - read a couple of the reviews to the right of this page and all i can say is that they must have called into another pub - as they no way represent our experience of the Rock Inn - so well done to all the staff and management

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Farce”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We met friends there. Dave ordered marinated olives as a starter but they were fresh out of marinated olives so he went without a starter. When the other starters were served the waitress told us the 'Pie of the Day' (heavily recommended on two blackboards) which I had ordered wasn't ready yet and they were just making the pastry. We asked how long it would be and were told an hour, plus the barmen who took the order were aware of this and shouldn't have taken the order. I went to the blackboard to re-choose and suggested to the barman that he took the dish off the black board as it wasn't available. "No they're just putting it in the oven now" he replied.
I re-chose haddock on a bed of spinach with a poached egg on top. Almost precisely an hour after we first ordered, the main courses arrived. Two burgers ordered were so thin and tiny they were served on a side plate in burger buns that were raw buns cut in half. Lovely. Don't get me started on the crockery! I mean I like vintage but really! As for my dish I was able to pick up the poached egg and wiggle it around it was so dry and rubbery, the fish had bones sticking out of it like a splay of fingers and the spinach was cold and watery. The barman came over and apologised, asked me if I wanted something else but at this point I didn't want to make a third choice of dish so I declined and he offered me a drink, we already had a bottle of wine so I also declined that offer. All I wanted was an edible meal with friends, mission not possible obviously. We won't be back unless we hear it has changed hands, it used to be a nice busy place to go, but not any more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rock Inn also viewed

Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
Yelverton, Dartmoor National Park
 
Meavy, Dartmoor National Park
Buckland Monachorum, Devon
 

Been to The Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.